Stacking the Shelves: Week 09 – ALA Edition Part 1!


What is Stacking The Shelves all about?

We are all book lovers and the need to share our enthusiasm is sometimes overwhelming. Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

If you’re anything like me, you are probably hoarding books and even though you are excited about your latest book arrival, it might be a while before you get to review it and Stacking The Shelves is a good way to express your undying enthusiasm for those titles! (Hosted by Tyngasreviews.com!)

Week 09: ALA Part 1!

So, I attended ALA this year in Anaheim with friends, and it was pretty awesome. My highlights will be in another post, but for now, let me show you what I did get this year. It’s uh, kind of a lot of books, so it’ll be done in parts. This is part 1!

Librarians, before you hit me in my feels, let me just say that:

– I could not afford to attend the entire conference as it was, and I had no idea membership was so cheap until I was enlightened at the end of the conference. (I couldn’t even afford an exhibits plus pass, and I was dying to see the GRRM Imagineering panel, so that should say something.)

– I am currently building CHOC’s new inpatient library. Why? Because they can’t afford to, and these kids are sick. This is a children’s hospital, and they have no budget for a library. So I am donating my ARCs that I don’t keep to this library. I am also going to be creating a special collection of my personal favorite books out of these ARCs to go to the oncology ward, dedicated to my best friend, who I lost at age 13 (she was 12) due to cancer.

– I now fully intend to join once I have money scraped up together for ALA and YALSA memberships.

– I had a lot of fun, and I thank you for putting up with blogger shenanigans.

Sorry that had to have a disclaimer due to all of the stuff going on in the blogosphere right now between bloggers, librarians, and so forth but if you have any objections, by all means let me know. My ears are open. 🙂

That being said, let’s get to part 1 of the books!


♡ GIVEN/BOUGHT/SWAPPED/LIBRARY/GIFTED:

*ALA pub = from publishers given to me at ALA

*ALA bought = bought at ALA from publishers

1. “God Save the Queen” by Kate Locke – ALA pub (signed!)

2. “Girl of Nightmares (Anna #2)” by Kendare Blake – ALA pub (signed!)

3. “Prodigy (Legend #2)” by Marie Lu – ALA pub (signed!)

4. “Legend” by Marie Lu – ALA bought (signed!)

5. “Why We Broke Up” by Daniel Handler & Maira Kalman – ALA bought (signed!)

6. “Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe” by Benjamin Alire Saenz – ALA pub

7. “A Wrinkle in Time – Graphic Novel Adaptation” by Madeleine L’Engle & Hope Larson – ALA pub

8. “The Elementals” by Francesca Lia Block – ALA pub (signed!)

9. “Butter” by Erin Jade Lange – ALA pub

10. “The Raven Boys” by Maggie Stiefvater – ALA pub

11. “Carnival of Souls” by Melissa Marr – ALA pub (signed!)

12.  “The Blessed” by Tonya Hurley – ALA pub (traded with Ishita from The Reading Fish!)

13. “The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls” by Claire Legrand – ALA pub

14. “Darkwater” by Catherine Fisher – ALA pub

15. “Starling” by Lesley Livingston – ALA pub

16. “Silver” by Talia Vance – ALA pub (signed!)

17. “Innocent Darkness” by Suzanne Lazear – ALA pub (signed!)

Blurry picture is blurry, but a LOT of good stuff here. Thanks to all of the very generous publishers that gave me copies of these books and to the authors that signed them – you’re ALL awesome. I think I’m set for summer reading – don’t you?

♡ E-ARCs/GALLEYS/ONLINE PUBLISHER READING/E-BOOKS:

1. “Mystic City” by Theo Lawrence – via NetGalley/Random House (thanks!)

2. “Biopunk” by Marcus Wohlsen – via NetGalley/Penguin (thanks!)

I’ve been wanting to read “Biopunk” for the longest time, so imagine my surprise when it popped up on NetGalley! Yay! And of course, “Mystic City”, which I tried to get at ALA but to no avail. Thank you to NetGalley and its partners for granting me access this week!

♡ OTHER:

Nothing this week!

Stuff I finished & reviewed this week!:
“Beyond the Wall” by James Lowder
“Heaven (Halo #3)” by Alexandra Adornetto

What was new on your shelves this week?

4 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: Week 09 – ALA Edition Part 1!

  1. Well, it’s not like your unattractively smug sister and you were showing off the fact that each of you had one copy of the same book on Youtube. That being said, you have a nice, judicious haul and I know you’re way above pushing and shoving to get multiple ARCs you can sell on ebay. It must also be noted that the people who are guilty of such shenanigans are not as established in book blogger circles, and those who are don’t approve of their actions. Anyway, I can’t wait for you to join ALA and to go with you next year! (though we will probably be in different sections most of the time).

  2. It’s SO awesome that you’re donating your ARCs for a good cause! That gives you every right to grab ARCs,since you’re going to be donating them. It’s so wonderful that you’re doing that! ❤ Anyways, I'm super jealous that you got Girl of Nightmares and Prodigy! I'm SO looking forward to reading both of those!

    Happy reading!

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

Leave a comment