Blog Tour Stop!: “Ink” by Amanda Sun – Review, Top Ten Fave Scenes, & a giveaway!


13423346Hey, everyone! And welcome to the kick-off of the blog tour for Amanda Sun’s spectacular debut, “Ink”! Today we have both of our reviews as well as info on the author and our top ten favorite scenes from the book!

Reviews: Usagi, Ashleigh.

First, some info on our book and author:

Official Blurb via Goodreads

I looked down at the paper, still touching the tip of my shoe. I reached for it, flipping the page over to look.

Scrawls of ink outlined a drawing of a girl lying on a bench.

 A sick feeling started to twist in my stomach, like motion sickness.

 And then the girl in the drawing turned her head, and her inky eyes glared straight into mine.

On the heels of a family tragedy, the last thing Katie Greene wants to do is move halfway across the world. Stuck with her aunt in Shizuoka, Japan, Katie feels lost. Alone. She doesn’t know the language, she can barely hold a pair of chopsticks, and she can’t seem to get the hang of taking her shoes off whenever she enters a building.

Then there’s gorgeous but aloof Tomohiro, star of the school’s kendo team. How did he really get the scar on his arm? Katie isn’t prepared for the answer. But when she sees the things he draws start moving, there’s no denying the truth: Tomo has a connection to the ancient gods of Japan, and being near Katie is causing his abilities to spiral out of control. If the wrong people notice, they’ll both be targets.

Katie never wanted to move to Japan—now she may not make it out of the country alive.

 Paperback, 377 pages

Expected publication: June 25th 2013 by Harlequin Teen

AmandasunAuthor Bio

I’m a YA author and proud Nerdfighter. I was born in Deep River, Canada, a very small town without traffic lights or buses, and where stranger safety is comprised of what to do if you see a bear—or skunk. I started reading fantasy novels at 4 and writing as soon as I could hold a pencil. Hopefully my work’s improved since then.

In university I took English, Linguistics, and Asian History, before settling into Archaeology, because I loved learning about the cultures and stories of ancient people. Of course, I didn’t actually become an archaeologist—I have an intense fear of spiders. I prefer unearthing fascinating stories in the safety of my living room.

The Paper Gods is inspired by my time living in Osaka and travelling throughout Japan. That and watching far too many J-Dramas. I currently live in Toronto with

my husband and daughter. When I’m not writing, I’m devouring YA books, knitting nerdy things like Companion Cubes and Triforce mitts, and making elaborate cosplays for anime cons.

Official Site | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

ALSO! You want a copy of this awesome book, right?

OF COURSE YOU DO! Follow the link to Rafflecopter-sama right over HERE to enter!

And now, for Usagi and Ashleigh’s top ten favorite scenes from the book! We’ve split it into five for each blogger. These scenes are a bit spoilery, so if you want to wait until you’ve read the book to read our favorite scenes, that’s cool too.  What did we pick? Come see after the jump!

USAGI’S TOP FIVE SCENES (in no particular order):

1. Yuu and Katie “officially” meet – ARC pg 27-28:

“Yuu Tomohiro!” I shouted at the top of my lungs, He jerked to a stop, but didn’t turn around. I stared at the curve of his shoulder blades under the white dress shirt as he breathed in and out slowly.

Then he turned, looking up in slow motion when he didn’t see me on the street.

“That’s right, Tarzan, look up!” I screamed in English. “You’re not the only one around here who can make an exit!” My lungs burned with adrenaline as I watched him stare at me.

I couldn’t help it. The grin spread across my face, knowing I’d beaten him at his own game.

He waited a minute, completely still, and I wondered if he hadn’t understood a word I’d said. Not that it mattered. He’d still get the point. I was the winner.

“What do you have to say now?” I shouted.

Still nothing.

“And then he slowly raised his arm, finger pointed.

“I can see up your skirt,” he said.

Oh god.

2. Ink for Blood – ARC pg 63

The gravel sprayed across the grass, tiny drops of blood clinging to the stones. Except, some of the drops didn’t look like blood. They oozed like….black ink.

The shower of pink petals rained down.

I stepped forward, one foot, and then the other, numb to the beauty of the park. I bent down and lifted one of the stones. The droplet of ink spilled onto the side of my finger before dripping back to the ground.

3. Grieving – ARC pg 82

“Don’t let them tell you you’ll be fine,” he said, looking at me urgently. His brown eyes caught the sunlight and I could see how deep they were before his bangs fell into them again. He tucked the bangs to the sides with his slender fingers; I couldn’t help wondering what his fingertips felt like. “Be angry, Katie Greene. Don’t forget how hard it was. Because there’ll always be a hole in your heart. You don’t have to fill it.”

Satisfied with his pep talk, he gave me a small grin and then turned back to his drawing. The wind caught the cherry and plum petals and they spun in drifts before my eyes.

And felt that I wasn’t alone, that Tomohiro and I were suddenly linked. No one told me I wouldn’t feel better. No one had let me be empty and changed. I knew which side of him was real now, and it wasn’t the part that everyone else saw.

4. The Dragon – ARC pg 170

“You know what Kami can do?” he said in a raspy and desperate voice that wasn’t his. “What Kami can do but others can’t?”

His voice dropped to a whisper.

“Fly.”

He was drawing a dragon, long and angular, and it wriggled on the page like a snake, like the scrap I’d picked up that day. The sun glinted on its mouth full of shiny teeth and my whole body went cold.

5. Home – ARC pg 322

The whole thing felt surreal. To think five months ago this is what I had wanted. To go home.

But home wasn’t there anymore, and it wasn’t even Japan, really.

I think it was inside myself.

And it was in him.

And that’s what I had to leave. Because I couldn’t stand to break him.

ASHLEIGH’S TOP FIVE SCENES (in no particular order):

I read and enjoyed Ink all the way back in January before swapping my copy away to Usagi herself and my memory is a little fuzzy, but there are quite a few scenes or lines that stick out to me.

1. This little bit of sass from Katie, which cracked me up (ARC p. 68-69)

 A sport where I was expected, even encouraged, to smack Tomohiro. What could be better?

2. The bird-sketch come to life (ARC p.123)

Then I saw the problem—an intruder among the birds. It was another wagtail, but his tail feathers stretched out longer than the others, his round eyes void and vacant like…like the sketched girl in the genkan. All the wagtails were white and black, but this one looked papery, like he would crinkle in the breeze. His feathers were jagged, messy scrawls, and when he beat his wings to move to another branch, little swirls of shimmering dust trailed his flight.

Oh my god. He’s…he’s a sketch.

3. This line from Tomohiro to Katie shortly after she finds out his secret (ARC p. 156)

 “I can’t keep you in the dark and protect you at the same time.”

4. The ink monster. ‘Nuff said. (ARC p. 250)

The ink carved itself into a jawbone, cheekbones, deepset eyes. Four sharp horns grew from the top of the smoky ink as it towered over us.

Ishikawa screamed as the ink assembled a horrible, demonic face that laughed gleefully the harder Ishikawa shrieked. I was glad I couldn’t see its features from behind Tomohiro; I’d never seen Ishikawa act like that, so paralyzed with horror. He stared, his own face whiter than his hair, and my blood ran cold watching him.

5. This preview of book two, which ensures I’ll be sticking around! (ARC p. 369)

Another burst of sound in the sky, but no color, just a brief oily shimmer as it splayed across the sky. And then suddenly everyone was screaming and scattering across the road.

Ink descended on us like a black rain, warm as the drops splattered down my face and stained the sleeves of my yukata.

Another firework burst, all ink instead of color, raining down on the crowd with a faint sheen. A woman ran past, covering her head with her hands. She bumped me into the railing and I fell forward. I dropped the milk tea, trying to grab at the railing before I fell headfirst onto the beach. And then two sets of strong hands grabbed me by my shoulders and pulled me back.

 

That’s it for our stop on the tour! Be sure to check out the other stops, because it’s going to be awesome. And remember, “Ink” comes out on June 25, 2013, so DEFINITELY be sure to check it out when you get the chance!

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour Stop!: “Ink” by Amanda Sun – Review, Top Ten Fave Scenes, & a giveaway!

  1. !!! So I got to ~100 in the book before something else came up, and I never got around to Ink again… but the scenes you both chose have reminded me that I really SHOULD get back to this book. I also loved the smart-ass “I can see up your skirt,” comment and Katie’s snark about sports (although: how many YA novels have you read in which the protagonist is actually good at sports? More often than not, the girl is complaining about them).

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves: Week 49 | birth of a new witch.

Leave a Reply

