Review: “Another Little Piece” by Kate Karyus Quinn


12665819Title: “Another Little Piece”

Author: Kate Karyus Quinn

Genre: YA contemporary, mystery, thriller, paranormal, AWESOME

Publication Date: June 11, 2013 (HarperTeen – North America)

Source: Edelweiss Review Copy/ Publisher-provided ARC

Summary: On a cool autumn night, Annaliese Rose Gordon stumbled out of the woods and into a high school party. She was screaming. Drenched in blood. Then she vanished.

A year later, Annaliese is found wandering down a road hundreds of miles away. She doesn’t know who she is. She doesn’t know how she got there. She only knows one thing: She is not the real Annaliese Rose Gordon.

Now Annaliese is haunted by strange visions and broken memories. Memories of a reckless, desperate wish . . . a bloody razor . . . and the faces of other girls who disappeared. Piece by piece, Annaliese’s fractured memories come together to reveal a violent, endless cycle that she will never escape—unless she can unlock the twisted secrets of her past.

☆: 4.5/5 stars – holy crap, definitely one of the best of 2013 so far!

Review:  Holy WOW, guys. This one blew me away. I wasn’t expecting anything of what I got, and…even now I can’t really put words together about this release. Why isn’t this release on the Dark Days tour? It deserves to be there for the summer 2013 batch for sure. “Another Little Piece” has something for everyone – mystery, the paranormal, dissociative identities (OR ARE THEY?) and so forth. I found myself drawn in, and I basically read it in one or two sittings, which is pretty rare for me. If you want a good YA standalone this summer that will literally make the hair on the back of your neck stand up, look no further than “Another Little Piece”.


My favorite part about this book (technical area): voice. I usually don’t talk much about voice as a technical part of a book – usually I blend it in with the character building segment. But for this title, it’s so spectacular that I definitely did have to set it apart from the rest. Annaliese’s voice is so superbly and chillingly done that I just have to talk about it. Her dissociative state from “being” Annaliese when she comes home (talking about her parents as “the mom and dad” really did it for me) was absolutely spot on and sent chills up and down my spine. When her memories start coming back there was a little bit of repetitive language building up to it (“and it all fell away” was used several times) and that did grate on my nerves a bit but overall, the voice was one of the most outstanding in YA that I’ve really read/listened to as of late.

The weakest point of the book: one particular plot point that was unclear. I’m not sure that if the ARC I read will get edited to clear that up, or if Quinn is trying to leave it mysterious and vague, but it was a bit frustrating when I was trying to put all of the pieces (no pun intended) together. I’m trying not to go into spoilers, but here were the two most mysterious points that really needed to be connected but really never were: the Physician and the brujas. How did they come into all of this? That’s never explained, and I’m really hoping for a prequel (or hopefully, an edit) that hints at this in the future (or by the time it goes to pub). This took off one half star for me just because it was so frustrating.

But all of the rest of the technical details? Absolutely stunning. I literally could NOT put this book down. And the best part? It’s a standalone, reads as a standalone, and that’s so rare with books of this type in YA as of late, I couldn’t quite believe it once I finished the book. It all wrapped up rather nicely, but it wasn’t a hurried wrapping up, or a messy one, but one that ended very naturally, and very authentically. It all made sense. And that too feels very rare in YA – for standalones to end so naturally without having so many loose ends – that it’s definitely something to read, appreciate, and celebrate.

One thing on the relationships – there is a little TINY bit of a hint of insta-love with one of the characters (aside from what is confirmed as a plot point to BE insta-love because of paranormal reasons, which was really cleverly done, I might add, and made me cackle unattractively) where Annaliese really connects with this guy, but it feels a little too fast for me. As of now, I’m still not sure whether or not that got caught in editing or if that was intentional, but all the same, as the relationship slowly progressed, it worked out, and I could see why Annaliese in a dissociative state would be attracted to this guy. With the intentionally used insta-love, I did chuckle quite a bit because it did feel like, in a way, that Quinn was poking a bit of fun at other YA paranormal/mystery books with a similar premise. Whether she actually was or not? Debatable. But it was still an amusing thing to pick up on.

All of that aside, this really is a well done, fantastically plotted thrill ride of a book that will definitely keep you on your toes. Just when you think you have the truth? Nope. Watch out, because something else is coming your way, and it’s definitely wicked. “Another Little Piece” is out June 11, 2013 from HarperTeen, and as it’s one of my favorites of 2013 so far, it definitely cannot be missed so check it out when you get the chance. I hope you guys love it as much as I did.

One thought on “Review: “Another Little Piece” by Kate Karyus Quinn

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves: Week 48 | birth of a new witch.

Leave a Reply

