Manga Monday – Week 36


mangamondaySo, I’ve seen this feature on a few book blogs out there, and decided to make this feature my own. After suggestions from friends, Manga Mondays comes to Birth of a New Witch! I’ll try to give equal billing to manga being released both in the US and in Japan, since US licensing takes awhile and I read manga in both languages. I want to cater to other fans out there who do the same.

Confused by some of the terms I use in this feature? See Week 1 for clarification on my most commonly used terms.

And now, to this week’s US and Japanese choices!

Week 35 (US Release): “Cardcaptor Sakura: Volume 1 (Omnibus Edition)” by CLAMP

7947676Title: “Cardcaptor Sakura: Volume 1 (Omnibus Edition)”

Author/Artist: CLAMP

Genre: Shoujo, Magical Girl/Mahou Shoujo, Magic/Paranormal

Publication Date: October 20, 2010 (North America)

US Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

Summary: Fourth grader Sakura Kinomoto finds a strange book in her father’s library — a book made by the wizard Clow to store dangerous spirits sealed within a set of magical cards. But when Sakura opens it up, there is nothing left inside but Kero-chan, the book’s cute little guardian beast . . . who informs Sakura that since the Clow cards seem to have escaped while he was asleep, it’s now her job to capture them!

Usagi’s Take: Okay, okay, I admit it. I have a soft spot in my heart for magical girls. I was actually turned onto this series when I finished “Rayearth” (another huge CLAMP property) and wanted to read more CLAMP stuff. And find more magical girl stuff. Voila, I found this series. It’s fluffy, and it’s not very deep, but it’s always held a special place in me for its sheer magic, amazing costumes, and tarot-like Clow cards. What’s better? CLAMP later includes this series and most of their other series in the “Tsubasa”/”XXXHOLiC” series as retellings. So that’s pretty awesome, too. If you’re looking for something sweet, this is definitely a series you need to check out!

Week 35 (Japanese Release): “Jellyfish Princess (Kuragehime): Volume 1” by Higashimura Akiko

51037Title: “Jellyfish Princess (Kuragehime): Volume 1”

Author/Artist: Higashimura Akiko

Genre: Comedy, Josei, Slice-of-Life, Gender Issues

Publication Date:  2008

Publisher: Kodansha

Summary: The story centers around Tsukimi Kurashita, a huge fan of jellyfish (kurage, a wordplay on the “kura/mi” and “tsuki/ge” in her name) and a girl who moves to Tokyo to become an illustrator. She moves into “Amamizukan,” an apartment complex that is full of fujoshi (diehard female otaku) with a no-men-allowed rule. However, one day, Tsukimi invites a stylishly fashionable woman to stay at her room at Amamizukan—only to discover that the guest is not who “she” seems to be.

Usagi’s Take: This is a series very near and dear to my heart – mostly because I relate a LOT to it. I discovered it when the anime aired a few years ago, and it brought back fond (and sometimes not so fond) memories of living in an all-female guesthouse when I was at ICU. This series will make you laugh, cry, and will give you hope if you feel as self-loathing and scared as Tsukimi. I keep hoping that someone will pick up this series since the anime has been licensed and has been selling relatively well here in the States, so here’s hoping it eventually does. HIGHLY recommended if you’re interested in women’s issues, comedy, or gender issues in general.

What about you? Do you read manga? If so, feel free to participate with your own manga monday segment and link up in the comments section!

One thought on “Manga Monday – Week 36

  1. Awesome choices! I remember watching Cardcaptor Sakura on TV as a child and really liking it. It’s definitely one of those classic magical girl series. 🙂 I also find it really weird that the anime for Jellyfish Princess was licensed, but not the manga. I’m kinda hoping Yen Press will be the one to license it because I think they’ll do a good job on it.

Leave a Reply

