Blog Tour Stop & Giveaway! “Goddess”: Guest Post – Josephine Angelini on why she uses mythology when she writes!


Button_Goddess2Hey, everyone, and welcome to my stop on the “Goddess” tour! I’m pretty sad that this trilogy is ending, but hopefully we’ll be giving it a good send-off with this tour. Today we have author Josephine Angelini talking about why she writes using mythology, which should be interesting to see in terms of her writing process.

ALSO!

We have a giveaway! Click on THIS LINK to enter! What’s the grand prize, you ask?

Giveaway_Goddess-1024x487

The first is for the chance win one of 15 copies of either STARCROSSED, DREAMLESS or GODDESS.  The second is signed(!) Goddess Kindle Paperwhite!

I mean, look at how pretty that Paperwhite is. Good god. Even I want one!

Remember to visit the other tour hosts as there’s some fantastic content going on within this tour:

TOUR SCHEDULE

Monday, May 20th – Starryeyed Reviews
Tuesday, May 21st – fiktshun
Wednesday, May 22nd – The Irish Banana
Thursday, May 23rd – YA Bibliophile
Friday, May 24th – Supernatural Snark

Monday, May 27th – Birth of a new Witch (That’s us!)
Tuesday, May 28th – Refracted Light Reviews
Wednesday, May 29th – Tales of a Ravenous Reader
Thursday, May 30th – Hobbitsies
Friday, May 31st – Reading Teen

Monday, June 3rd – Parajunkee
Tuesday, June 4th – Buried in Books
Wednesday, June 5th – Candace Book Blog
Thursday, June 6th – Alison Can Read
Friday, June 7th – Book Twirps

Now, join us behind the jump to listen to Angelini’s story of myth and writing.

PROMPT: Why use myth?

Write what you know.

 

Everyone who’s ever written, wanted to be a writer, or was forced to take a creative writing class, got that bit of advice at some point.  Write what you know.  I hated hearing that because it got me nowhere.

 

Every time I sat down with pen in hand, trying to think of what it was that I knew, the only answer I ever got to that question was…nothing.  I know nothing.  Was I supposed to steal from my life, and even if I did, had my life been interesting enough?  I wasn’t an astronaut, or the fifth member of a jewel heist, or a rodeo clown.  I was a college kid.  What was I supposed to do?  Write something that made a big deal out of a time I got dumped by someone? 

 

Some writers have had celebrated careers writing about their failed relationships or their disillusionment or their ennui or whatever.  When I tried it, my story came out terrible.  Really, truly terrible.  I basically just whined for a couple of pages and then ran out of steam.  I didn’t even want to read it back because, seriously?  Who wants to read about some self-absorbed co-ed who carries on about getting dumped like it’s the end of the world?  I kept wanting to tell my protagonist to get a hobby, adopt a kitten—anything—just stop sniveling about What’s-His-Face.

 

I realized that if I was ever going to write something, it needed plot.  I like action.  I like characters that do things, but if I was limited to writing what I knew, then my most exciting action sequence would be someone running to catch the subway.  Not exactly what I had in mind.  Then I got some more writing advice.

 

Write what you love.

 

Nuts.  This posed a new set of problems.  I grew up reading fantasy and science fiction.  I had Star Wars memorized by the time I was ten.  I studied Shakespeare and Sophocles in college.  And, yes, I was addicted to Star Trek: The Next Generation, although I kept that really quiet.  What a mess.  It took me forever to figure out what it was that I loved. 

 

But I finally managed it.  What I love is a big, epic story, filled with love and loss.  And somewhere in the mix there has to be a monster, dragon, or an alien or what’s the point, right?  Now comes the best bit of all.  I took all the advice I’d been given about writing and decided to blend it.

 

Write what you know and love.

 

I studied Greek drama, so I know it rather well, and I love dudes with swords.  Take a myrmidon, add in three creepy ghost-girls knows as the Furies, curse a couple of people, and voila!  That’s a story I’d like to write.  No, even better.  That’s a story I’d like to read.

 

This isn’t to say that every book I’m ever going to write is going to be based on mythology—far from it—but it was a fantastic place for me to start.  I felt comfortable writing inside this genre and was excited to come up with new twists to make the old tales modern and fresh. 

 

So I guess that, to me, writing Starcrossed wasn’t really about choosing myth over some other genre, but how I figured out what I needed to write to begin with.

Thanks, Josephine, for joining us today with that awesome post! I know it’s given me good insight into this entire trilogy, and even changes the way I look at things within it just a bit. Remember…

The Starcrossed series by Josephine Angelini

Available Now!

Find Josephine Angelini:
website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

16 thoughts on “Blog Tour Stop & Giveaway! “Goddess”: Guest Post – Josephine Angelini on why she uses mythology when she writes!

  1. I am super excited for Goddess!!! Even though I have to read Dreamless still lol but I absolutely love all the covers! They are simply gorgeous!!! Thank you so much for this awesome giveaway and blog tour!!!

  2. I Love Greek mythology too. Writers do always write what they love and that’s what make books so good. I can’t wait to read Goddess and find out what happens in the end.

Leave a Reply

