Teaser Tuesday: Week 97


ShouldBeReadingTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

•Grab your current read

•Open to a random page
•Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

•Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This week’s teaser comes from “Between the Devil & the Deep Blue Sea” by April Genevieve Tucholke (USAGI):

12930909“You stop fearing the Devil when you’re holding his hand.”

Freddie said this to me, when I was little.

Everyone called my grandmother by her nickname, even my parents, because, as she put it, Freddie, short for Fredrikke was her name. Not Mother, or Grandmother. Just Freddie.

Then she asked me if I loved my brother.

“Luke is a damn bully”, I said.

 

 

This week’s teaser comes from Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (ASHLEIGH):

14061955He reached out, and it took everything in me not to flinch backward. But all he did was take hold of one end of my scarf. He tugged gently, and the rough wool slipped free, gliding over my neck and fl uttering to the ground.

“Back to pretending to be less than you are, I see. The sham  doesn’t suit you.”

A twinge of unease passed through me. Hadn’t I had a similar thought just minutes ago? “Thanks for your concern,” I muttered.

 

 

 

What are you reading this Tuesday?

One thought on “Teaser Tuesday: Week 97

Leave a Reply

