Top Ten Tuesday: Week 46


toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday  is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists! Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week’s theme: Usagi’s Top Ten Bookish Memories!

In no particular order –

1. Midnight Release for “Harry Potter & The Order of the Phoenix” (21 June 2003) – I remember this release because this was the same night I graduated from high school. So a bunch of our bffs got together (because we were AP nerds and loved HP) to the midnight release! It was wonderful and a lot of fun. A great way to remember my high school grad.

2. Book Launch Party for Leigh Bardugo’s “Shadow & Bone” (June 2012) – This was SO much fun. I got to bond more with friend of the blog Aurora Gray, and got to hang out with Leigh and Jennifer Bosworth and other friends of the blog, among others. And there was champagne. AND CANDY. It was awesome. Hopefully there’ll be another one like it for “Siege and Storm” later this year!

3. Beginning master classes with my childhood writing idol and current mentor, Francesca Lia Block (5 July 2010) – Words can’t express how much these classes meant (and still mean) to me. I’m so thankful to be working with Francesca, and I’m thankful she’s been able to put up with me for this long. She’s a second mother, a critic who keeps me honest, and a good friend.

4. ALA 2012 (June 2012) – Got to meet a lot of new friends at my first ALA, along with a lot of older ones, though we kept missing each other! The book signings were wonderful, and I got to hang out with a lot of my current favorite authors before and during signings. This was so much fun, and though I wish I could do it again this year (or BEA, for that matter), it’s just not financially feasible. Sadly enough.

5. “Eclipse”, or, how Usagi got her books-in-English groove back (September 2006 – June 2007) – Okay, I’m no “Twilight” fan, but I do have to give credit where it’s due. I came home from doing my year abroad in Tokyo and started my final year at SB in 2006, and friends of mine from high school ended up on the same floor (!), and along with the new friends I made in on the same dorm floor, “Eclipse” soon started to circulate around the floor (and the boys read it too – no joke). We called it the dorm bicycle because that one copy (and it was pretty ragged by the end) got around so much.

6. LA Times Festival of Books 2010 @ UCLA (May 2010) – Also known as “how I got extra translating work”, “how I got tracked down Wil Wheaton and got him to sign my book”, and “how many amazing panels did I go to? TOO MANY”. SO many awesome panels and people, many of them YA, and some of them not, but it was a really great experience all the same. I got a lot of books signed and it was generally awesome. Sadly, I feel like the FoB hasn’t been the same since it moved to USC in 2011, mostly because it’s harder to get to and it’s not in the greatest neighborhood. Oh well.

7. Junior Year @ ICU (June 2005 – July 2006) – This was my year in Japan through the UC exchange program. This is how I really learned how to read (and write, though my handwriting is still shit) in Japanese, and how I was really able to start reading novels and not just manga in Japanese, as well as write an exit dissertation in academic Japanese. This year nearly broke my body (I was really, really sick by the time I got home), but I’m glad I did it, and I miss living in Japan quite a bit. I spent a lot of free time going to Book-Off (there were three stores within a three train-line radius near my guesthouse!) and to otaku stores with friends. But I want to thank everyone who had the patience to teach me how to read and write – it’s not easy dealing with an autistic person, period, much less one that keeps missing entire radicals when she’s writing in kanji. So thank you.

8. Being on my high school art magazine senior editorial staff for two years running (September 2001 – June 2003) – Even though it was a LOT of work (and also incurred a lot of emotional pain with friends and boyfriends clashing), this is perhaps my best memory of high school. Forget prom, I’m still close with most of these people and we stay in touch. I hope we’re able to get together later this year for my first high school reunion, though I’m also sort of dreading it. I still have copies of our magazine for those years, and I’m amazed we were able to do what we did in the amount of time that we had (which was nearly zero, btw). I’m proud of us.

9. Deciding to use this blog to branch out from creative writing to reviews (October 2010) – One of the best decisions I ever made. Really. I’ve met some wonderful people (some of which I’ve been able to meet, yay!) and I’ve read so many, many great books in that time. I’m glad I pushed myself to do so. I’m glad I’ve been able to interact with all of you!

10. Picking up “Miss World” by Randi Black and redesigning the cover for it (2011-2012) – Since then Randi and I have become really close, and I’m proud to say that I redesigned the kindle cover for the book. So when you buy the book now on amazon? I made that cover. Yep. Me. She’s become an invaluable writing partner, critic, and friend. Just goes to show – not all indie authors are dicks.

What about you? What are your top ten bookish memories? Participate at Broke and Bookish today!

Leave a Reply

