The Next Big Thing – On “Hounds” and my other projects!


I feel terrible about this, but I TOTALLY forgot about this between two colds and the holidays. Anyway, Francesca tapped me to do this quick survey on  “Hounds” and my other projects, so here it is, THE NEXT BIG THING survey!

Q: What is your working title of your book (or story)?

First: “The Hounds”. Second: “Night Terrors” (unrelated to “Hounds”). I’m also working on something with my bff/heterosexual life partner/wingman, and we did that for nanowrimo this year – tentatively titled “War Son”.

Q: Where did the idea come from for the book?

First: What if you used to be one person and were torn in two? What would that be like? Second: Wanted to do a retelling of one of my favorite plays, and see what happens for the YA crowd. It’s pretty dark so far, and not easy to write.

Q: What genre does your book fall under?

First: Mid-to-Mature YA/New Adult, Second: no idea yet, but most likely YA of some sort.

Q: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Oh good god, my cast for the first is too big to list, but in an ideal world:

Morgana/Morgause: Rooney Mara

Mordred: Karen Gillan

Pan: Thomas Dekker

Cernunnos: Anton Yelchin

Morrigan: Lena Headey

Kannon: Dichen Lachman

Lea: Anna Torv

Loki: Joshua Jackson

Oberon: Michael C. Hall

Mab: Crystal Kay Williams

Artemis: Molly Quinn

Odile: Joseph Gordon-Levitt

Odette: Jennifer Lawrence

Ringo: Shiina Ringo

For the second, I’m still feeling things out, but so far…:

Ren: Alice Englert

Cat: Juno Temple

Jay:  Dylan O’Brien

 

Q: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

First: Two girls must rescue their sister, their relationships, and two worlds, or lose everything for good.

Second: A modern retelling of “Faust”: What is the price you’d pay for your dearest wish – and what if what you paid for wasn’t what you really wished for?

Q: Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m hoping for both to get rep’d by an agency, but if I have to go the self-pub route, I totally will.

Q: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

About one year for “Hounds” – still not even done with the first third of the first draft of “Night Terrors” yet.

Q: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

First: Probably the “Daughter of Smoke and Bone” trilogy by Laini Taylor but a lot darker (or any of Holly Black’s stuff). Second: “Puella Magi Madoka Magica” (okay, so it started as an anime, but whatever).

Q: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

First: It’s something that had to come out of me. Basically, the two MCs are me – the me before and during my quarter life crisis. I suddenly became two different people after I got back from studying abroad. Second: I adore the “Faust” tale (it’s one of my favorite classics), and I wanted a new spin on it since it seems like no one else has written one for western YA in awhile…

Q: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

First: It’s not all sunshine and rainbows. I think it has a lot of grit that I’ve been hungering for in mid-to-mature YA/New Adult that isn’t entirely contemporary/romance-based. Second: New spin on an old tale – who doesn’t love that? It’ll also ask you to look at your own greatest wishes and make you ask yourself – what would I pay for this? And would it be worth it?

So, that’s it! Is your interest piqued? Let me know!

One thought on “The Next Big Thing – On “Hounds” and my other projects!

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves: Week 31 | birth of a new witch.

Leave a Reply

