Review: “Lauren Conrad Beauty” by Lauren Conrad & Others


13623910Title: “Lauren Conrad Beauty”

Author: Lauren Conrad & Others

Genre: Non-Fiction, Tips n’ Tricks/How-to

Publication Date: October 16, 2012 (Harper – North America)

Source: Publisher-provided finished copy

Summary: Whether she’s in front of the camera or behind the scenes, style icon Lauren Conrad has spent years learning from the pros and perfecting her look, and now she’s sharing all her beauty secrets.

In her first guide dedicated exclusively to beauty, Lauren covers everything you need to know to maximize your own beauty potential. From tips for creating a strong foundation and maintaining healthy skin and hair through diet, exercise, and all-around wellness to everyday makeup techniques and tricks of the trade for special-occasion looks, “Lauren Conrad Beauty” provides the advice you’ve been waiting for. Lauren’s personal anecdotes and illustrated step-by-step lessons for makeup, hair, and nails will have you looking great for day or night

☆: 3/5 stars – A great basic beauty guide, but not much more than that.

Review: Any of my friends could tell you I’m not a traditional girly girl. I rarely use makeup, and if I do, it’s mostly just stuff for acne or lipgloss or concealer. I don’t actively go seeking tips, but I will admit that that this book did tempt me with the combination of autobiographical narration AND beauty tips. However, I found that “Lauren Conrad Beauty” sorely lacked in terms of new material in the beauty tips department and I found myself reading it for the autobiographical bits that are included in each chapter instead. I’m pretty sure that wasn’t the aim of the book. Still, if you’re looking for a good beginner’s beauty book, you can’t go too wrong with “Lauren Conrad Beauty”.

There are a few good tips in this book that I hadn’t even really been looking for, but that popped out at me. The presentation of the book asthetically was really good in this way – the highlights of each chapter were clearly presented in an easy to understand, step by step way, and I have to give the designers credit for that. Otherwise, I didn’t really find anything that I couldn’t have found in youtube/online video tutorials, other magazines or books. It’s all very basic, and would probably be really good for a young teenager to get them in the habit of keeping their skin healthy, if anything. But if you’re an older reader (like me), you’re not missing much here in the how-to department, whether it be in the hair, skin, or nails department.

Instead, what I found interesting were the bits of Conrad narrating her own life, from her childhood up until she hit the reality circuit and how her own look evolved inside all of that time, complete with embarrassing stories (I think the Gwen Stefani one was my favorite, to be honest) and photos. I do have to give it to her for being brave enough to submit those stories and old photos, as some of them were pretty bad.  I enjoyed her narration the most out of all the things in this book, and her beginnings were interesting, especially as I’m very familiar with the whole South County (southern Orange County) look and mannerisms.

Still, this is going to great for a late tween or early teen, and will hopefully get them on the right path to eating well, treating themselves well, and taking care of themselves well in general. Which, face it, especially for American teens? Is a very badly needed thing. Anything that can get them started on the right path, I’m definitely for it.

But that’s just how I feel about it. You can pick up “Lauren Conrad Beauty” now from Harper in North America, so be sure to check it out when you get the chance!

2 thoughts on “Review: “Lauren Conrad Beauty” by Lauren Conrad & Others

  1. Pingback: usagi’s challenges for 2012! | birth of a new witch.

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves: Week 28 | birth of a new witch.

Leave a Reply

