Review: “A Fractured Light (Light/Dark #2)” by Jocelyn Davies


Title: “A Fractured Light (Light/Dark #2)”

Author: Jocelyn Davies

Genre: YA, Paranormal Romance

Publication Date: September 25, 2012 (HarperTeen – North America)

Source: Publisher-provided ARC

Summary: When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. It’s not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories come flooding back. She tries to put the past behind her, but she knows she’ll be forever haunted by the ruthless betrayal that almost took her life.

Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she’s capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can’t forget the terrifying truth she now knows about the Order, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion.

☆: 1.5/5 stars – seriously? seriously, Skye, you can’t make up your mind?!

Review: This one was pretty disappointing, guys. Once again – a ton of awesome tremendous potential, and most of it was squandered. Most of it. Surprisingly, some of it was used, and when I skipped to the end of the book to see if it might hook me for book 3, yes, there is a definite hook there that really shouldn’t have been at the end – it should have been there throughout the entire book. Basically, “A Fractured Light” is definitely suffering from middle book syndrome, and I’m not sure I’ll be back for book 3.

What bothered me the most – the book starts off with a bang, and ends with one, too. But the middle? It was so dead on arrival that no matter how hard I tried to stay engaged, it just totally flatlined. We still have the same problem of Skye not being able to choose between two boys (well, not entirely – she’s “definitely” chosen Asher, but is still very attracted to Devin), and thus, even though she’s “chosen sides” with not only the Rebellion/Order and between two boys, she still seems to suffer from buyer’s regret throughout most of the novel.

There’s also the worldbuilding – there should have been a lot more that was going on, but just wasn’t. Inserting a lot of the Order into her hometown just didn’t cut it for me. At this point in the game I was expecting more, period, in terms of this world, and I was only thrown scraps. I think that this was supposed to be tantalizing, but it ended up being infuriating instead. I wanted more on the Order, the Rebellion, and the Rogues and their past tangles and just didn’t really get as much as I needed to.

What was gratifying was the fact that Skye was working on empowering herself. However, it was for the wrong reason – I felt like she was trying to help empower herself in order to make Asher proud. That didn’t feel too awesome to me. But at least she was trying, right? I guess, at this point, I just am done with undecided love triangles, even more undecided heroines, and I expect more from YA at this point. This isn’t to say that I’m done with Davies’ writing as she’s quite good at it, and I look forward to her future works.

Final verdict: Fans of the first book will love this second book, but for me, I think I might be done with it. However, this is just how I feel about it, so I urge you guys to go and read it and decide for yourselves. “A Fractured Light” is out now from HarperTeen in North America, so be sure to go and check it out!

2 thoughts on “Review: “A Fractured Light (Light/Dark #2)” by Jocelyn Davies

  1. Pingback: usagi’s challenges for 2012! | birth of a new witch.

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves – Week 20 | birth of a new witch.

Leave a Reply

