Stacking the Shelves: Week 14 – ALA Edition Part 6!


What is Stacking The Shelves all about?

We are all book lovers and the need to share our enthusiasm is sometimes overwhelming. Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

If you’re anything like me, you are probably hoarding books and even though you are excited about your latest book arrival, it might be a while before you get to review it and Stacking The Shelves is a good way to express your undying enthusiasm for those titles! (Hosted by Tyngasreviews.com!)

Week 14: ALA Part 6!

So, I attended ALA this year in Anaheim with friends, and it was pretty awesome. My highlights will be in another post, but for now, let me show you what I did get this year. It’s uh, kind of a lot of books, so it’ll be done in parts. This is part 1!

Librarians, before you hit me in my feels, let me just say that:

– I could not afford to attend the entire conference as it was, and I had no idea membership was so cheap until I was enlightened at the end of the conference. (I couldn’t even afford an exhibits plus pass, and I was dying to see the GRRM Imagineering panel, so that should say something.)

– I am currently building CHOC Children’s new inpatient library. Why? Because they can’t afford to, and these kids are sick – like, really sick. This is a children’s hospital, and they have no budget for a library. So I am donating my ARCs that I don’t keep to this library. I am also going to be creating a special collection of my personal favorite books out of these ARCs to go to the oncology ward, dedicated to my best friend, who I lost at age 13 (she was 12) due to cancer.

– I now fully intend to join once I have money scraped up together for ALA and YALSA memberships.

– I had a lot of fun, and I thank you for putting up with blogger shenanigans.

Sorry that had to have a disclaimer due to all of the stuff going on in the blogosphere right now between bloggers, librarians, and so forth but if you have any objections, by all means let me know. My ears are open. :)

That being said, let’s get to part 6 of the books!

♡ GIVEN/BOUGHT/SWAPPED/LIBRARY/GIFTED:

*ALA pub – received at ALA from publishers

*not ALA pub – either received before or after ALA from publishers.

1. “Betrayal (Empty Coffin #2)” by Gregg Olsen – ALA pub (Thanks, Sterling!)

2. “What We Saw at Night” by Jacquelyn Mitchard – ALA pub (Thanks, SohoTeen!)

3. “Ungfited” by Gordon Korman – ALA pub (Thanks, HarperChildrens!)

4. “The Sweet Dead Life” by Joy Preble – ALA pub (Thanks, SohoTeen!)

5. “Beautiful Lies” by Jessica Warman – ALA pub (Thanks, Bloomsbury/Macmillan!)

6. “Lost Girls” by Ann Kelley – ALA pub (Thanks, LBFYR!)

7. “Dear Blue Sky” by Mary Sullivan – ALA pub (Thanks, Nancy Paulsen Books!)

8. “Speechless” by Hannah Harrington – ALA pub (Thanks, HarlequinTeen!)

9. “Witch World” by Christopher Pike – ALA pub (Thanks, S&S!)

10. “Wonder” by RJ Palacio – ALA pub (Signed! Thanks, Random House!)

11. “Zom-B” by Darren Shan – ALA pub (Thanks, LBFYR!)

12. “Loop” by Shandy Lawson – ALA pub (Thanks, Disney-Hyperion!)

13. “The Savage Fortress” by Sarwat Chadda – ALA pub (Thanks, Scholastic!)

14. “A World Away” by Nancy Grossman – ALA pub (Thanks, Disney-Hyperion!)

15. “The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano” by Sonia Manzano – ALA pub (Thanks, Scholastic!)

16. “League of Strays” by LB Schulman – ALA pub (Thanks, Amulet/ABRAMS!)

17. “Dark Companion” by Marta Acosta – not ALA pub (Thanks, TorTeen!)

18. “Size Four and Ready to Rock” by Meg Cabot – not ALA pub (Thanks, Harper!)

The second to last part of the ALA haul! I really enjoyed “A World Away” and “What We Saw at Night”, and I can’t wait to dive into “Witch World”, “Speechless”, “Wonder”, “Betrayal”, “Revolution”, and “Loop”! Thanks again to all of the publishers at ALA for letting me sample their wares, and the publishers sending me things for review – your generosity is muchly appreciated!

♡ E-ARCs/GALLEYS/ONLINE PUBLISHER READING/E-BOOKS:

1. “The Future We Left Behind (.4 #2)” by Matt A. Lancaster – via NetGalley/EgmontUSA (Thanks!)

2. “Katya’s World” by Jonathan L. Howard – via NetGalley/Angry Robot (Thanks!)

3. “The Mephisto Kiss (Mephisto #2)” by Trinity Faegen – via NetGalley/EgmontUSA (Thanks!)

4. “The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led Revels There (Fairyland #2)” by Catherynne M. Valente – via NetGalley/Macmillan Children’s (Thanks!)

5. “Crewel” by Gennifer Albin – via NetGalley/Macmillan Children’s (Thanks!)

6. “The Shadow Society” by Marie Rutkoski – via NetGalley/Macmillan Children’s (Thanks!)

7. “OreImo (My Sister Can’t Possibly Be This Cute!) Volume 1” by Tsukasa Fushimi – via NetGalley/Dark Horse Comics (Thanks!)

8. “Ironskin” by Tiny Connolly – via NetGalley/Tor (Thanks!)

9. “Beautiful Disaster” by Jamie McGuire – via S&S/Atria Books (Thanks!)

I can’t wait to dig into all of these! “Crewel” was AWESOME, and I can’t wait to get my review up for you guys. Same with “OreImo”. I need to get to the rest, though. And on “Beautiful Disaster” – yeah, I can’t say I’m happy with the author’s behavior, but as of last week this thing got a movie deal, so I guess now I need to know what all of the hubbub is about. -__- Wish me luck!

♡ OTHER:

None this week!

Stuff I finished & reviewed this week!:
“Glitch” by Heather Anastasiu
“Moonglow (Darkest London #2)” by Kristen Callihan

Other stuff!:
Ben H. Winters interview!
Gina Rosati interview!

 

What leapt onto your shelves this week?

Leave a Reply

