Stacking the Shelves: Week 12 – ALA Edition Part 4!


What is Stacking The Shelves all about?

We are all book lovers and the need to share our enthusiasm is sometimes overwhelming. Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

If you’re anything like me, you are probably hoarding books and even though you are excited about your latest book arrival, it might be a while before you get to review it and Stacking The Shelves is a good way to express your undying enthusiasm for those titles! (Hosted by Tyngasreviews.com!)

Week 12: ALA Part 4!

So, I attended ALA this year in Anaheim with friends, and it was pretty awesome. My highlights will be in another post, but for now, let me show you what I did get this year. It’s uh, kind of a lot of books, so it’ll be done in parts. This is part 1!

Librarians, before you hit me in my feels, let me just say that:

– I could not afford to attend the entire conference as it was, and I had no idea membership was so cheap until I was enlightened at the end of the conference. (I couldn’t even afford an exhibits plus pass, and I was dying to see the GRRM Imagineering panel, so that should say something.)

– I am currently building CHOC Children’s new inpatient library. Why? Because they can’t afford to, and these kids are sick – like, really sick. This is a children’s hospital, and they have no budget for a library. So I am donating my ARCs that I don’t keep to this library. I am also going to be creating a special collection of my personal favorite books out of these ARCs to go to the oncology ward, dedicated to my best friend, who I lost at age 13 (she was 12) due to cancer.

– I now fully intend to join once I have money scraped up together for ALA and YALSA memberships.

– I had a lot of fun, and I thank you for putting up with blogger shenanigans.

Sorry that had to have a disclaimer due to all of the stuff going on in the blogosphere right now between bloggers, librarians, and so forth but if you have any objections, by all means let me know. My ears are open. :)

That being said, let’s get to part 4 of the books!

♡ GIVEN/BOUGHT/SWAPPED/LIBRARY/GIFTED:

*ALA pub = from publishers given to me at ALA

*ALA bought = bought at ALA from publishers

*Not from ALA = sent by publisher before/after ALA

1. “Return to Me” by Justina Chen – ALA pub (Thanks S&S!)

2. “The Iron Knight (Iron Fey #4)” by Julie Kagawa – ALA pub (Thanks, HarlequinTeen!)

3. “Adaptation” by Malinda Lo – ALA pub (Signed! Thanks, LBFYR!)

4. “Pushing the Limits” by Katy McGarry – ALA pub (Thanks, HarlequinTeen!)

5. “Ashen Winter (Ashfall #2)” by Mike Mullin – ALA pub (Signed! Thanks, Tanglewood!)

6. “Rift” by Andrea Cremer – ALA pub (Thanks, Penguin!)

7. “Venom” by Fiona Paul – ALA pub (Thanks, Penguin!)

8. “Keeping the Stars” by Shelia O’Connor – ALA pub (Thanks, Penguin!)

9. “Smashed” by Lisa Luedeke – ALA pub (Thanks, S&S!)

10. “Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone” by Kat Rosenfield – ALA pub (Thanks, Penguin!)

11. “The Suburban Strange” by Nathan Kotecki – ALA Pub (Thanks, HMH!)

12. “Lucid” by Adrienne Stoltz – ALA pub (Thanks, Penguin!)

13. “Flesh & Bone (Benny Imura #3)” by Jonathan Maberry – ALA pub (Thanks, S&S!)

14. “Tiger’s Destiny (Tiger #4)” by Colleen Houck – ALA pub (Thanks, Sterling!)

15. “Parlor Games” by Maryka Biaggio – ALA pub (Thanks, Doubleday!)

16. “Red Rain” by RL Stein – ALA pub (Thanks, Touchstone!)

Once again, thanks to all of the pubs and authors at ALA who let me sample their wares/signed their books for me. Out of this pile, I think I’m most excited about “Rift” (it’s going on vacation with me in two weeks, yay!), “Lucid”, “Venom”, “Suburban Strange”, and “Red Rain”. But I can’t wait to read all of these!

♡ E-ARCs/GALLEYS/ONLINE PUBLISHER READING/E-BOOKS:

1. “Two and Twenty Dark Tales” by Nina Berry & Others – via NetGalley/Month9Books (thanks!)

2. “Teeth” by Hanna Moskowitz – via Edelweiss/Simon & Schuster (thanks!)

3. “House of Shadows” by Rachel Neumeier – via NetGalley/Orbit/Hachette (thanks!)

4. “God Save the Queen” by Kate Locke – via NetGalley/Orbit/Hachette (thanks!)

REALLY excited for “House of Shadows” and “Teeth” out of this lot, and “Two and Twenty Dark Tales” and “God Save” were too interesting to pass up. Thanks to NetGalley, Edelweiss, and their partners for granting me access to these awesome galleys this week!

♡ OTHER:

1. “Fringe” TV Guide collectible Comic-Con edition – bought

Picture is poor quality since it’s from my instagram feed, but it’s awesome because it’s double-sided! I’m so sad that I wasn’t able to get tickets to SDCC AND it’s the last season of “Fringe” premiering in September, so…yeah. Not happy making. But this magazine soothes the soul a bit.

Stuff I finished & reviewed this week!:
“Temple Grandin” by Sy Montgomery
“Pushing the Limits” by Katie McGarry
“The Unquiet” by Jeannine Garsee
“The Last Policeman” by Ben H. Winters (Interview about the book is coming next week!)
“Shadow of Night (All Souls #2)” by Deborah Harkness
“Tiger Lily” Blog Tour Stop! Jodi Lynn Anderson interview!

What leapt onto your shelves this week?

9 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: Week 12 – ALA Edition Part 4!

  1. What a fantastic haul! That’s a crazy amount of books!

    I absolutely adored Pushing the Limits, so I hope you enjoy it too! 🙂

  2. So many awesome books! I understand that you have a disclaimer..Lots of drama within the blogging community which is unfortunate huh..Don’t let them get to you, that’s all I say! AMAZING books you got! You’ll be busy reading for a while huh? 😀 Thanks so much for dropping by hun!
    ——
    Giselle from booknerd.ca
    Stacking the Shelves

Leave a Reply

