Stacking the Shelves: Week 11 – ALA Edition Part 3!


What is Stacking The Shelves all about?

We are all book lovers and the need to share our enthusiasm is sometimes overwhelming. Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

If you’re anything like me, you are probably hoarding books and even though you are excited about your latest book arrival, it might be a while before you get to review it and Stacking The Shelves is a good way to express your undying enthusiasm for those titles! (Hosted by Tyngasreviews.com!)

Week 11: ALA Part 3!

So, I attended ALA this year in Anaheim with friends, and it was pretty awesome. My highlights will be in another post, but for now, let me show you what I did get this year. It’s uh, kind of a lot of books, so it’ll be done in parts. This is part 1!

Librarians, before you hit me in my feels, let me just say that:

– I could not afford to attend the entire conference as it was, and I had no idea membership was so cheap until I was enlightened at the end of the conference. (I couldn’t even afford an exhibits plus pass, and I was dying to see the GRRM Imagineering panel, so that should say something.)

– I am currently building CHOC Children’s new inpatient library. Why? Because they can’t afford to, and these kids are sick – like, really sick. This is a children’s hospital, and they have no budget for a library. So I am donating my ARCs that I don’t keep to this library. I am also going to be creating a special collection of my personal favorite books out of these ARCs to go to the oncology ward, dedicated to my best friend, who I lost at age 13 (she was 12) due to cancer.

– I now fully intend to join once I have money scraped up together for ALA and YALSA memberships.

– I had a lot of fun, and I thank you for putting up with blogger shenanigans.

Sorry that had to have a disclaimer due to all of the stuff going on in the blogosphere right now between bloggers, librarians, and so forth but if you have any objections, by all means let me know. My ears are open. :)

That being said, let’s get to part 2 of the books!

♡ GIVEN/BOUGHT/SWAPPED/LIBRARY/GIFTED:

*ALA pub = from publishers given to me at ALA

*ALA bought = bought at ALA from publishers

*Not from ALA = sent by publisher before/after ALA

1. “Unwind” by Neal Schusterman – ALA pub (Thanks, S&S!)

2. “Outpost (Razorland #2)” by Ann Aguirre – Not from ALA (Thanks, Macmillan!)

3. “Bloodlines” by Richelle Mead – bought

4. “Dark Star” by Bethany Frenette – ALA pub (Thanks, Disney-Hyperion!)

5. “What Happens Next” by Colleen Clayton – ALA pub (Thanks, S&S!)

6. “A Want So Wicked (Need #2)” by Suzanne Young – Not from ALA (Thanks, HarperTeen!)

7. “The Diviners” by Libba Bray – ALA pub (Thanks, LBFYR!)

8. “The Twelve (The Passage #2)” by Justin Cronin – ALA pub (Thanks, Random House!)

9. “Kill Me Softly” by Sarah Cross – ALA pub (Thanks, EgmontUSA!)

10. “The Darkest Minds” by Alexandra Bracken – ALA pub (Signed! Thanks, Disney-Hyperion!)

11. “The Crown of Embers (Fire & Thorns #2)” by Rae Carson – ALA pub (Signed! Thanks, HarperTeen)

12. “Time Between Us” by Tamara Stone – ALA pub (Signed! Thanks, Disney-Hyperion!)

13. “False Memory” by Dan Krokos – ALA pub (Signed! Thanks, Disney-Hyperion!)

14. “Magisterium” by Jeff Hirsch – ALA pub (Thanks, Scholastic!)

15. “Heaven (Halo #3)” by Alexandra Adornetto – ALA pub (Thanks, Macmillan!)

16. “Shadows (Ashes #2)” by Ilsa J. Bick – ALA pub (Thanks, EgmontUSA!)

17. “The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland…(Fairyland #2)” by Catherynne M. Valente – ALA pub (Thanks, Macmillan!)

A TON of good stuff here! Thanks to all of the pubs that were kind enough to let me sample their wares this year at ALA, and to the pubs who sent me wonderful things to review! I’m especially excited about “The Twelve”, “Dark Star”, “Outpost”, “The Diviners”, “Crown of Embers”, “Shadows”, and “Time Between Us” the most! I can’t wait to read them all!

♡ E-ARCs/GALLEYS/ONLINE PUBLISHER READING/E-BOOKS:

1. “Angel Para Bellum: Volume 1” by Tamaki Nozomu (via Seven Seas – thanks!)

2. “Midnight City” by (via NetGalley/St.Martin’s Griffin – thanks!)

3. “Alice in the Land of Clover: Cheshire Cat Waltz – Volume 1” by Quinrose (via Seven Seas – thanks!)

4. “Alice in the Land of Clover: Bloody Twins” by Quinrose (via Seven Seas – thanks!)

5. “The Bionic Man” by Kevin Smith (via NetGalley – thanks!)

These are all awesome – thanks to Seven Seas for sending me their digital galleys for some really great new manga series to hit the US. And I can’t wait to see Kevin Smith’s take on “The Bionic Man”. Thanks to Seven Seas, NG, and all of their partners for granting me access to their galleys. 😀

♡ OTHER:

Nothing this week!

Stuff I finished & reviewed this week!:
“Smashed” by Lisa Luedeke
“Size 12 and Ready to Rock (Heather Wells #4)” by Meg Cabot
“Throne of Glass” by Sarah J. Maas
“Vampire Empire: The Greyfriar (Vampire Empire #1)” by Susan and Clay Griffith
“Seraphina” by Rachel Hartman
“Fury’s Fire (Siren’s Storm #2)” by Lisa Papademetriou

What leapt onto your shelves this week?

4 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: Week 11 – ALA Edition Part 3!

  1. WOW! Amazing books 😀 you got A LOT! A Want so Wicked looks great! I really hope you enjoy all of the amazing books you got… it looks like I’m not the only one with a NEVER ENDING tbr pile haha! Have a great Sunday!

    If you’d like to check out my Mailbox post “CLICK HERE

  2. You got some fantastic books this week! & I just love what you are doing for the children in hospitals! It’s such a fantastic thing to do!
    Bloodlines is amazing I really love that series, I think I like it a lot more than Vampire Academy, but a lot of people disagree with me there!
    I’ve heard great things about Kill Me Softly, but have yet to get my hands on it yet… I hope that you enjoy!

    Happy Reading!
    -Kate
    My STS: Nomalicious Reads

Leave a Reply

