Review: “Dark Kiss” by Michelle Rowen


Title: “Dark Kiss”

Author: Michelle Rowen

Genre: YA, urban fantasy, paranormal romance

Publication Date: May 22, 2012 (expected)

Summary:  I don’t do dangerous.  Smart, über-careful, ordinary Samantha-that’s me. But I just couldn’t pass up a surprise kiss from my number-one unattainable crush. A kiss that did something to me…something strange. Now I feel hungry all the time, but not for food. It’s like part of me is missing-and I don’t know if I can get it back. Then there’s Bishop. At first I thought he was just a street kid, but the secrets he’s keeping are as intense as his unearthly blue eyes. If he’s what I think he is, he may be the only one who can help me. But something terrifying is closing in, and the one chance Bishop and I have to stop it means losing everything I ever wanted and embracing the darkness inside me….

When angels and demons must work together, something beyond evil is rising…

☆: 1/5 – really not that much different from so much of the angel/demon PNR YA lit out there, failed to deliver.

Review: Short review is short, because I just didn’t have the patience for this one.

I just couldn’t finish this one – I got about sixty pages in before I gave up. I liked the idea of this plot as given to us by the blurb, but unfortunately, I found that the writing was pretty disappointing in all other areas. Our MC didn’t really feel like a real girl, but she did feel like a teenage stereotype. Oh, my parents are getting divorced! It sucks, I need attention, so I’m going to shoplift! That didn’t work, they’re still not noticing me. So I’ll make out with my crush that they don’t approve of. It was pretty painful to read as Rowen tried to make this stereotype into a character, and it just didn’t work.

While the world was a bit stable, it still didn’t quite feel 3D. The characters in general, aside from the MC, also felt like PNR stereotypes that have come to be – the bad boy, the demon, the angel, and so forth. It just didn’t click, and I wish that Rowen had made it a bit more original. The plot line of the greys was interesting and I honestly wanted more on that than anything else.

There wasn’t much showing at all – there was a whole lot of telling, though, and that’s something I can’t abide – especially for experienced authors (guys, you should know better by now!). I feel like had this another draft or two, it might have flowed a bit better, had the messy areas cleaned up a bit more, and generally would have made some kind of impact on me (I felt no emotional connection to our MC at all, and that’s kind of a problem).

I wish I could say this one was amazing, and that I had fun with it. But I didn’t. However, this is just me – it might be better for younger YA readers as an introduction into the PNR sub-genre. But ultimately, “Dark Kiss” just failed to deliver for me.

2 thoughts on “Review: “Dark Kiss” by Michelle Rowen

  1. Pingback: usagi’s challenges for 2012! | birth of a new witch.

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves: Week 07 | birth of a new witch.

Leave a Reply

