Top Ten Tuesday – Week 40


Top Ten Tuesday  is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists! Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week’s theme: Usagi’s Top Ten Vacation/Beach Bag Books!

Every year, I vacation out to Palm Desert, California, where it’s 110F in the shade and sit out by the pool, have a few frosty drinks from the bar, and read. Here are some of my favorite books I bring down with me in my bag.

1. “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern – This was my main read during last year’s vacation and I devoured it in a day or so. Absolutely gorgeous, and with the intense heat of the desert, made it a rather cooling little tidbit to consume. If you haven’t read by now, you certainly should.

2. “Wizard’s First Rule (Sword of Truth #1)” by Terry Goodkind – My read from a few years ago – and I got through all 500+ pages in two-three days. If you like high/epic fantasy, you’ll LOVE this title.

3. “The City and the City” by China Melville – This is a wonderful piece of speculative fiction and a read from a few years back I took on vacation. It’s a great standalone, and good for those who haven’t experienced speculative/magical realism in their literary fiction. Absolutely marvelous.

4.  “Battle Royale” by Takami Koushun – Said to have inspired “The Hunger Games”, this was one of my first desert vacation reads when we started going back to Palm Desert after a 10 year break. Absolutely brutal, heartbreaking, and it will make you want to cheer by the end. DEFINITELY not for younger YA readers.

5. “Book Girl and the Suicidal Mime (Book Girl/Bungaku Shoujo #1)” by Mizuki Nomura – I started the third book (in Japanese) on last year’s vacation but didn’t get to finish it (got distracted!). But if you love mysteries and faeries, you will LOVE this series.

6. “Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1)” by Richelle Mead – Another one of last year’s reads, I blew through this one ridiculously quick. I seriously can’t wait for book two – out in two weeks!

7. “Chocolat (Chocolat #1)” by Joanne Harris – This one is a very old favorite after I had to do it as mandatory summer reading for AP English. It’ll make you long for melty chocolate in summertime and is a book I usually pack if I don’t know what to read on vacation.

8. “Kitchen Confidential” by Anthony Bourdain – Looking for some non-fiction to brighten your summer vacation? You simply have to read this favorite of mine. One of my favorite chef authors, Bourdain is awesome and he really needs to release a new book. Like, yesterday.

9. “I Was a Teenage Fairy” by Francesca Lia Block – One of my oldest favorite summer vacation reads – I read this repeatedly the summer of ninth grade. Absolutely gorgeous, and definitely a summer story.

10. “Lord of the Rings” by JRR Tolkien – This was my summer read the summer I first visited Tokyo (nine years ago!) and it was totally absorbing. Definitely book your trip to Middle Earth with this classic this summer!

Leave a Reply

