TGIF: Week 13


Hosted by GReads!. Who’s ready for the weekend?!  I know I am!  I’m introducing a new(ish) feature for Fridays to re-cap the week’s posts & to propose a question for my followers.

This week’s prompt: Issue Books: Which books have you found to be very rewarding when it comes to tackling tougher issues?

Answer: I’ve found that the first three books in Jackie Morse Kessler’s “Horsemen Quartet” (“Hunger”, “Rage”, and “Loss”) have dealt fabulously with self-injury, eating disorders, and bullying. “Wintergirls” by Laurie Halse Anderson also deals really well with eating disorders, as does Francesca Lia Block’s “The Hanged Man”.  They approach them full-on, without flinching, but also in a magical/semi-magical realism sort of way, which I really really like. I highly recommend those. But I’ve found that a lot of YA books tend to sugarcoat or beat you over the head (both extremes, with very few in the middle) when it comes to tough stuff, so I wish I could say I’ve found more that have dealt with the issue within YA that I like. Also, in the adult arena, “Shadow Bound (Unbound #2)” by Rachel Vincent deals with rape and torture really well, too.

 

What about you? Participate at GReads! for this week’s prompt!

Leave a Reply

