Review: “Angel Eyes” by Shannon Dittemore


Title: “Angel Eyes”

Author: Shannon Dittemore

Genre: YA, paranormal

Publication Date: May 29, 2012

Summary: Once you’ve seen, you can’t unsee. Everything changes when you’ve looked at the world through . . .

ANGEL EYES

Brielle’s a ballerina who went to the city to chase her dreams and found tragedy instead. She’s come home to shabby little Stratus, Oregon, to live with her grief and her guilt . . . and the incredible, numbing cold she can’t seem to shake.

Jake’s the new guy at school. The boy next door with burning hands and an unbelievable gift that targets him for corruption.

Something more than fate has brought them together. An evil bigger than both of them lurks in the shadows nearby, hiding in plain sight. Two angels stand guard, unsure what’s going to happen. And a beauty brighter than Jake or Brielle has ever seen is calling them to join the battle in a realm where all human choices start.

A realm that only angels and demons—and Brielle—can perceive.

☆: 1/5 stars – an extremely preachy, unwelcome piece of YA fiction.

Review: I tried with this one, guys. I tried. If you’ve been reading the blog/know my reading habits, you know that I tend to go for paranormal books – and I love YA angel/demon books. I love all of the possibilities they explore, from the Miltonian to the Biblical.

But.

There are many, many ways to tell stories about angels and demons, and most authors manage to steer clear of bludgeoning the reader over the head with a particular religious angle or agenda, or worse, turn it into a moral tale on “how not to go to hell”.

Unfortunately, Dittemore failed pretty hard in that respect. Not even a third of the way in, I kind of just checked out because there was a moral lesson going on in a public school on how not to end up in a Christian hell.

I have a problem with that – public school and prayer, for me, don’t go together.

And that’s not the least of this book’s problems. Chosen girl who can see some kind of paranormal entity and people think she’s nuts because she can see said entity? Check. New guy who comes to school who makes fun of her yet they have instant chemistry? Check. So many overused YA tropes were stuffed in here, and that’s before I hit page 90. I just frankly couldn’t make myself read any more of it.

I’m all for religious debate and speculative exploration in my fiction – in fact, I welcome it. But when it comes to talking about “God’s plan” and said story talks down to the YA crowd about it, I just can’t get behind that. If you’re not really into that either, I suggest you avoid this one, too.

(Yeah, I know this is a really short review, but I just can’t think about this one too much lest my head explode in frustration.)

One thought on “Review: “Angel Eyes” by Shannon Dittemore

  1. Pingback: usagi’s challenges for 2012! « birth of a new witch.

Leave a Reply

