Review: “Endure (Need #4)” by Carrie Jones


Title: “Endure (Need #4)”

Author: Carrie Jones

Genre: YA, paranormal, romance

Publication Date: May 8, 2012

Summary: Zara is at the center of an impending apocalypse. True, she’s successfully rescued Nick from Valhalla, but it simply isn’t enough. Evil pixies are ravaging Bedford, and they need much more than one great warrior; they need an army. Zara isn’t sure what her role is anymore. She’s not just fighting for her friends; she’s also a pixie queen. And to align her team of pixies with the humans she loves will be one of her greatest battles yet. Especially since she can’t even reconcile her growing feelings for her pixie king . . .

☆: 3.5/5 stars – a solid ending to a fun series!

Review: After reading “Need”, I admit that I put this series to bed for a bit while I caught up on all of the other paranormal/faerie related series. It was good, it didn’t blow me out of the water, and the ending is much the same. The author did grow in the course between books one and four, which is always a good thing, but this is a good series to get started with in the genre. I was a bit disappointed in that the author hadn’t grown as much as I’d hoped. Regardless, “Endure” is a good, solid ending to a good series, so if you’ve been reading the series, you definitely have to read this final installment in it.

I think the thing that bothered me the most about the ending of this series is that the love triangle that emerged in book one STILL HADN’T BEEN RESOLVED here by book four. In fact, it continued throughout the book. It seemed to have been resolved by the start of the book, but unfortunately, it wasn’t the case. Good job on Jones’ part for making it appear like everything had been settled but wasn’t. However, I was hoping very much for a resolved romance bit by this book, and I didn’t really get it until the last fourth of the book. That was pretty disappointing.

However, the idea of putting faeries in Valhalla/Hel is a VERY interesting concept, and on expanding that concept alone, I have to commend Jones. I don’t think anyone’s mixed the realm of faeries with Norse mythology, and it’s a brave thing to do. Though I really wanted to feel everything more through the sensory realm – while Jones has definitely improved since book one, I still wasn’t quite where I wanted to be in terms of sensory language/imagery, and I wasn’t really experiencing these legendary mythical realms like I could have been.

Overall, it was a good ending. It wasn’t mindblowing. It’s solid and stable and just a good place to end. There were some pretty awesome curveballs thrown in, and the references to some of my favorite series/media gets brownie points. We get a lot of conflict and action in this volume, perhaps the most we get for the entire series. If you were feeling a little stuck/slow in previous volumes in terms of conflict-driven plot/sub-plots, Jones definitely makes it up to you here.

Final verdict? If you’re a fan of the books/have been reading the books, give it a read. It’s worth it. I was underwhelmed, but I think those who really adore this series will think differently. “Endure” is now out through Bloomsbury Teen USA in North America, so be sure to check it out and come to your own conclusion.

One thought on “Review: “Endure (Need #4)” by Carrie Jones

  1. Pingback: usagi’s challenges for 2012! « birth of a new witch.

Leave a Reply

