Stacking the Shelves: Week 01


What is Stacking The Shelves all about?

We are all book lovers and the need to share our enthusiasm is sometimes overwhelming. Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

If you’re anything like me, you are probably hoarding books and even though you are excited about your latest book arrival, it might be a while before you get to review it and Stacking The Shelves is a good way to express your undying enthusiasm for those titles! (Hosted by Tyngasreviews.com!)

Week 01: Here’s what landed on my shelves out of my mailbox this week!

♡ GIVEN/BOUGHT/SWAPPED/LIBRARY:

1. “The Elementals” by Francesca Lia Block – borrowed from the author (Thank you, Francesca!)

2. “Writing the Breakout Novel” by Donald Maass – bought

3. “Insurgent (Divergent #2)” by Veronica Roth – bought

4. “The Vicious Deep” by Zoraida Cordova – via ARC swap (thanks!)

5. “Hand Me Down” by Melanie Thorne – via ARC swap (thanks!)

So here’s me participating in the new Sunday mailbox-esque meme, “Stacking the Shelves”. I’m starting all the way over from week one. So this week, my mentor Francesca was kind enough to loan me a copy of her new book (due out in October – be sure to check it out!) while I waited for my own copy of the galley to come (it hasn’t yet, but hopefully it will). I also got my textbook for this quarter in class (“Writing the Breakout Novel”), which is very helpful, but gives me panic attacks just reading it. “The Elementals” was AMAZING and left me full of feelings. Also, thank you to my ARC swap partners, as usual! I’ve gotten started on “Insurgent” and it’s pretty intense, and I can’t wait to get to the rest of these books for this week!

♡ E-ARCs/GALLEYS/ONLINE PUBLISHER READING:

1. “The Sweetest Dark” by Shana Abe – via Edelweiss/Random House (thanks!)

2. “My Life next Door” by Huntley Fitzpatrick – via NetGalley/Penguin For Young Readers (thanks!)

♡ E-BOOKS:

1. “Errant (Rampant 0.5)” by Diana Peterferund – bought (now free at amazon!)

Pretty excited for “Sweetest Dark”! And “My Life Next Door” looks awesome, too. Thanks to NG, EDW, and its partners for granting me access this week. And “Errant” is now FREE on Amazon in its kindle section – so be sure to grab it up! I’m pretty excited to finally read this prequel to “Rampant”. 🙂

♡ OTHER:

1. Entertainment Weekly Magazine: Week of May 04, 2012 – Avengers Special

I couldn’t help myself. I-I’m so weak. 😦 YET I REGRET NOTHING.

What’s new on your shelves this week?

7 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: Week 01

  1. Awesome haul! I pre-ordered Divergent months ago but still haven’t gotten it, so I’m a little jealous!
    The Sweetest Dark and The Vicious Deep also sound amazing! Have fun reading and thanks for being part of Stacking the Shelves!

  2. Writing the Breakout Novel was one of the first books I bought on writing and still remains one of my favourites. The Writing the Breakout Novel Workbook is also really helpful for when you are rewriting.

Leave a Reply

