Review: “The Fairy Letters (Frost #3.5)” by Kailin Gow


Title: “The Fairy Letters (Frost #3.5)”

Author: Kailin Gow

Genre: YA, novella, paranormal romance, faeries

Publication Date: August 2011/January 2012

Summary: Promised to each other at birth during a brief interlude of peace between the warring fey, Winter Prince Kian and Summer Queen Breena have always known they were each other’s destinies. Now grown, they are now the brokers of peace and must sacrifice their love.

☆: 3/5 stars – a solid YA faerie story.

Review: Since this is a novella, and there’s not much material to go on, this will be a pretty short review. I’ve read parts of the first book in this series, and I wasn’t quite feeling it, so I thought I’d go to the heart of the source – these letters from Kian to Breena. I thought I might get a little more depth, but honestly, I don’t think I felt much more than when I was reading the first book.

The good thing that Gow does know how to do is really give us a timeline of how Breena and Kian’s relationship, and how it starts to change. It’s a great outline and though it might spoil you for the books, I recommend it to anyone just starting the series as it’ll ground you more and prepare you for what’s to come.

However, I could have done without the “they’re meant for each other by birth, but betrayed by fate” trope (because it’s getting really overused in YA right now), and I don’t think it brought too much more to the table. Summer versus Winter is hot right now in faerie stories in YA, too, and I felt that was overused as well. Why do they have to be of different courts, and further, why do they have to be royalty? I felt that it might have worked better if say, one were royalty and one were not in either different courts or the same court. That might have made things a bit more interesting.

I do feel, though, the letters were a bit repetitive. Though we get some good insight into these characters’ minds that we didn’t quite get in the first book (and subsequent books, I’m sure). I know that it’s hard not to repeat oneself when writing a book in the form of letters of missing that person you love the most, but it didn’t quite feel diverse enough in terms of word choice. I think my favorite part was when we start to see how their love turns sour, and how nasty it really gets between them, because I finally felt more in the tension department.

At this point, I’m not sure if I’m going to read the rest of the series or not, but this was a fun little break from the rest of what I’ve been reading lately. “The Fairy Letters” is out now from Sparklesoup, Inc, so be sure to check it out.

2 thoughts on “Review: “The Fairy Letters (Frost #3.5)” by Kailin Gow

  1. Pingback: usagi’s challenges for 2012! « birth of a new witch.

Leave a Reply

