Top Ten Tuesday – Week 37


Top Ten Tuesday  is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists! Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week’s theme: Top Ten Books I’d Love to See Made into Films

There are SO many books I want to see made into movies, so it’s hard to narrow it into ten. I’m including manga/comics in this one, just so you guys know. So, in no particular order:

1. XXXHOLiC by CLAMP: This has had its own animated series and film, but I’d LOVE to see a live action film. Everything in Yuuko’s store, Mokona Modoki as a CG animal, a real life Watanuki being able to see ghosts. I’d absolutely pay to see this made into a real life film.

2. “Starcrossed” by Josephine Angelini: two words: FLYING. SCENES. That is all.

3. “Another” by Ayatsuji Yukito: I’ve heard rumors that this may be made into a real-life film, and I’d love it if it were. It’d make for an excellent horror flick, especially with “the extra student” lurking around the ninth grade class.

4. “Hourglass” by Myra McEntire: Would absolutely LOVE to see this one on the big screen. Especially with the time-travel scenes.

5. “The Immortal Rules” by Julie Kagawa: It’s just been picked up for a film adaptation, but I thought I’d list this one anyway. Fight scenes with Allison and her katana? Yes, please.

6. “Arcadia Awakens” by Kai Meyer: PARANORMAL MAFIA. SHAPESHIFTING GANGSTERS. Oh I want that second book in English now, but I hope this gets picked up for film right somewhere – I don’t care if it’s in Meyer’s native Germany or if it’s in the States, I just want a film out of it!

7. “The Night Circus” by Erin Morganstern: Do I really need to explain why? One of my favorite debuts from last year and one that I’ve re-read at least twice now.

8.  The “Uglies” series by Scott Westerfeld: I want to see the airboarding. Seriously. And the Pretties in New Pretty Town.

9.  “The Girl in the Steel Corset” by Kady Cross: We just need more steampunk-genre movies, period, so I think this would be a great choice for one.

10. “1Q84” by Murakami Haruki: This may take two films to make due to the length of the book, but it’s just such a spectacular story and I want to see it on the big screen – even the squicky parts!

 

What are your top ten books on this topic?

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – Week 37

  1. When I was reading the Uglies series, I was actually thinking how difficult it would be to adapt this as a movie – how do you show characters physically changing so much while the audience can still recognize them?

Leave a Reply

