your daily moment of zen: On Sirengate, and beyond.


So. It was an exciting week this week with the whole Sirengate plagarism thing. And it had me thinking – do I want to keep participating memes that will, ultimately, keep supporting her even with what she did? Her apologies are not apologies, and we book bloggers are not just the perpetrators, but we’re our own victims. We shot ourselves in the foot as a collective community. It’ll take time to heal over what’s happened, and I don’t expect that healing to happen anywhere near immediately. I’m not holding any grudges, but at the same time, I don’t want to continue supporting what happened by participating in her memes. And taking a little responsibility would be nice, too.

So what will Birth of a New Witch do regarding Sirengate and memes like IMM and the Debut Author Challenge? This will be the last week I’ll be doing IMM as I still have to figure out what to do to replace it. I like showing you guys my mailbox every week, but I’d like to do it in such a fashion that does not help support what happened – and, I’ve found, it’s getting kind of unhealthy for me mentally in terms of jealousy over other mailboxes and such. As for the debut author challenge, I’ll probably finish it up as I’m a little over halfway done, but I’ll be removing the button all the same.

More importantly, what will we as a community do about this? Will we continue to support her? Will we cease supporting her?

Where will we go from here?

I didn’t want to have to make this post, but I refuse to stick my head in the sand on this one. It may cost me some traffic, but I’ve taken knocks before. I can take them again. I would like to talk about this with you guys, though. What do you think? What will you do? Mine may be the unpopular opinion, but so be it. We need to talk about this at some point.

So, let’s talk.

[edit – 4/29/12: Friend of the blog, Patricia @ Book Exhibitionism has a GREAT post on replacements for Sirengate-related memes. Check it out!]

3 thoughts on “your daily moment of zen: On Sirengate, and beyond.

  1. Pingback: ☆ your daily moment of zen. « birth of a new witch.

  2. I don’t think it will cost you any traffic, people come up with new memes all the time, so ultimately I don’t think it will make any difference. I stayed away from the whole bruhaha, and I’ll still be doing IMM post not because I support Kristi stupidity but because it’s a simple comfortable idea and I’m giving due where it’s due. On the other hand I might not visit her blog or comment to boost her stats, and that is where it hurts any blogger.

Leave a Reply

