Manga Monday – Week 10


So, I’ve seen this feature on a few book blogs out there, and decided to make this feature my own. After suggestions from friends, Manga Mondays comes to Birth of a New Witch! I’ll try to give equal billing to manga being released both in the US and in Japan, since US licensing takes awhile and I read manga in both languages. I want to cater to other fans out there who do the same.

Confused by some of the terms I use in this feature? See Week 1 for clarification on my most commonly used terms.

And now, to this week’s US and Japanese choices!

Week 10 (US Release):”Sengoku Basara: Samurai Legends – Volume 1″ by Haibara Yak

Title: “Sengoku Basara: Samurai Legends – Volume 1”

Author: Haibara Yak, based on the video game by Capcom

Artist: Haibara Yak

Translation Company/US publisher: Udon Entertainment

Release Date: February 29, 2012 (North America)

Summary: During the Sengoku era of feudal Japan, mighty samurai armies battle all across the land of the rising sun. The sudden murder of the powerful lord Nobunaga has sparked a mad dash for power. Warlords from every kingdom have charged their soldiers into combat, each hoping to enact their own personal vision for the future of Japan.

“Sengoku Basara” takes real Japanese historical events and figures and makes them larger-than-life with dynamic character designs and all-out action.

Usagi’s Take: I know I get pretty bitchy about historical inaccuracy in my entertainment, but “Sengoku Basara” is pretty blatant about the fact that it’s not bound to follow the history books, and it’s pretty loosely based around the original. That, and it makes fun of itself – I love a series that can be totally irreverent and silly, and  “Sengoku” is definitely that series. This manga is based off of the games created by Capcom and the anime (which I discovered before either the games or the manga) and I adore it, so I really do have to recommend this series just for the sheer entertainment value. Just remember to take it with a huge grain of salt, as things really didn’t go down between the Warring States as led by Masamune and company the way “Sengoku” says it did. That and Masamune busting out the random (but relevant, most of the time) Engrish every five seconds always leaves me in stitches. The first season of the anime is out now in the States, so I highly recommend you try that, too!

Week 10 (Japanese Release): “Inu x Boku SS (My Dog & Me: Secret Service) – Volume 1” by Fujiwara Cocoa

Title: “Inu x Boku SS (My Dog & Me: Secret Service) – Volume 1”

Author: Fujiwara Cocoa

Artist: Fujiwara Cocoa

Publication Date: 2009

Publisher: Square Enix

Summary: The Maison de Ayakashi, better known as the Ayakashikan, is a high security apartment building where humans with demon ancestors, or youkai, reside, each guarded by their own Secret Service bodyguard. A youkai girl named Ririchiyo Shirakiin moves into the Ayakashikan hoping for some peace and quiet. Instead, she finds herself with the service of the Secret Service agent, Soushi Miketsukami.

Usagi’s Take: I actually just finished watching the anime, and I’ve read the first three volumes of manga, and I’m so in love with this story it’s absolutely ridiculous. It will make you laugh and cry, and it’s great for either boys or girls because there’s definitely something for everyone. The anime has been licensed by Sentai Filmworks and hopefully, we should see a Stateside release by the end of the year. It’s a really lovely story with some of the strangest supernatural characters you’ve ever seen (I think Sorinozuka’s actual identity is the strangest – but that would be spoiling it, so I won’t reveal who/what he really is!), and it’s a real shot in the arm for the paranormal romance genre. Hopefully the success of the anime Stateside will help decide whether or not the manga gets a US translation, so here’s hoping that it does well here. Definitely highly recommended!

What about you? Do you read manga? If so, feel free to participate with your own manga monday segment and link up in the comments section!

2 thoughts on “Manga Monday – Week 10

  1. I LOVE this post! I just got Death Note and Anima, which will be #2 and #3 on the list of Manga’s that I have read. So I could participate in Manga Monday if I wanted to?? The second Manga Inu x Boku SS (My Dog & Me: Secret Service) – Volume 1 sounds REALLY good!!! Is it published here in America??? I can’t read Japanese DARN IT! I wish I could 😀 Thanks for sharing this great post!!!!

    • Inu x Boku hasn’t been published here yet – but I’m hoping that if the anime, once released here later this year, is popular enough that it’ll get one of the translation companies’ attention and they’ll release it.

      Um, you could participate, with your recommendations and stuff, if you wanted. Just submit your link in the comments.

      Anima was okay, Death Note’s ending was hilarious.

Leave a Reply

