TGIF: Week 4


Hosted by GReads!. Who’s ready for the weekend?!  I know I am!  I’m introducing a new(ish) feature for Fridays to re-cap the week’s posts & to propose a question for my followers.

This week’s prompt:

Bookish Trends: What are some bookish trends you are noticing in the literature world today? Is there a particular trend you’d like to see more of?
Well, there’s definitely been a TON of dystopia, and on the rise, I’ve seen more of hte idea post-apocalyptic people in cities having to pay tribute to supernatural creatures in order not to get killed (three titles alone this year with that idea – not a bad thing, but since it looks like they were all written at the same time, how did that happen?). What’s been more pleasing is authors going into darker and darker areas of the mind and exploring it for the YA audience – “Masque of the Red Death” is proof of that, as well as “Grave Mercy” and in the more contemporary realm, “The Way We Fall”. I love that authors aren’t running away from really dark things, and we definitely need more of that.
What I’d like to see less of: traditional (read: heterosexual) love-triangle set paranormal romance. Really, guys, it’s been four years since “Twilight”. The trend is starting to get stale, so can we please move on? Non-traditional or faux romance triangles would be acceptable, and I love anything paranormal, really, and romance is cool as long as it doesn’t overwhelm the storyline. I’d love to see some gay or pansexual love triangles (or quadrilangles!) just to stir things up – it seems like so many YA authors forget that gay/pan kids are out there except when there’s a contemporary book about bullying or suicide (or both) begging to be written. Do I sound bitter about that? Yes. Am I bitter about that? Just a taste. We exist, guys, and we love our paranormal romances too. Or what if we reverse-harem it in the sense of one guy having to pick between two girls? I guess, what I’d like, is some thinking out of the box on this one because it feels like the box is just getting smaller despite the huge victories with gay marriage and equality all over the US and other parts of the Western world.
What I’d like to see? More biopunk. Biopunk would be titles like the “Uglies” series, where you futz with DNA in labs and whatnot – gene splicing, chimeric genomics, all of that good stuff – really, anything that messes with the human body and brings the idea of post-humanity into the mix. It’s one of the most fascinating and neglected parts of the -punk genres, so I’d like to see it get more love. “Partials” was fantastic, and that’s definitely in the biopunk genre. “For the Darkness Shows the Stars” shows the period a few hundred years after a biopunk boom storyline, so I consider it in that realm of that sub-genre. Also, more post (or almost post)-America-set books, like “Ship Breaker” (where the US is around, but barely), “The Selection” (post-America) and “Hunger Games” (post-America). People seem to think that the US will be around forever, and that’s simply not the case. We’re a young country, and we may not make it to 500 years old. That’s just not how humanity works, and I’d love to see YA authors in particular explore that a little more.
Oh, and of course, more attempts at epic/high fantasy in YA. Really. Please. For the love of god. Study up on your fantasy classics, authors, and try implementing them. Some titles that come to mind are the “Graceling” series, the “Seven Realms” series, and should it get better, the “Lumatere” series. I think that “Grave Mercy” has the most potential for best new YA high/epic fantasy series this year so far, so I’m hoping more authors follow suit.
If wishes were horses, right?
How do you feel about this topic? What would you like to see more and less of?
3 thoughts on “TGIF: Week 4

  1. Interesting reply! I think the lack of gay/pan protagonists may be due to a lack of gay/pan authors. I’m sure a lot of authors who are very supportive of the community are probably uncomfortable creating such characters due to worries they’ll get the portrayal wrong in some way.

    And high fantasy YA would definitely be a challenge. It seems as if it would be far too easy to have an attempt come out as an adult book in the end.

    • I think that may indeed be the case re: gay/pan protags/authors. But still, I would like for someone to try! It’s better to keep silent, after all. 🙂

      And yeah, I think a lot of fantasy series that might have started out as ones for YA or almost-adult kind of turned into adult books. Still, it doesn’t feel like too many authors are trying too hard on that one. Or maybe I just don’t know of enough titles? Or both?

      Thanks for your reply, and thanks for visiting! ❤

  2. To switch over to TumblrSpeak: GPOY!

    I don’t even know what fucks me up the most. The fact that there are none to little LGBT contents in books or that P.C. Cast tried to make her protagonists gay, and just ended up creating some shit that doesn’t do any of us a favor. GAH!

    Okay, I’ll shut up for now. I felt the rant coming up, and I don’t want to scare anyone away LOL

    Great answer! (And I now am a bloglovin Follower.. again. XD)

Leave a Reply

