On My Wishlist ♡ – Week 33


On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It’s where I list all the books I desperately want but haven’t actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming. If you want to know more click here.

Week 33: Desperately looking for the following ARCs: “A Million Suns”,  “Fever”, “Bloodrose”, “Born Wicked”, “Waking Storms”, and more! Let me know if you’re willing to send me a copy! If you want to send me a copy of your book for review, email me at usagiko at gmail dot com to let me know.

Here’s what’s on my wishlist this week:

“Waking Storms (Lost Voices #2)” by Sarah Porter

Summary via goodreads: After parting ways with her troubled mermaid tribe, Luce just wants to live peacefully on her own. But her tranquility doesn’t last long: she receives news that the tribe is on the verge of collapse and desperately needs her leadership. Anais, the tribe’s cruel queen, wants Luce dead. Dorian, the boy Luce broke mermaid law to save, is determined to make her pay for her part in the murder of his family. And while the mermaids cling to the idea that humans never suspect their existence, there are suddenly ominous signs to the contrary.

But when Luce and Dorian meet, they start to wonder if love can overpower the hatred they know they should feel for each other. Luce’s new friendship with an ancient renegade mermaid gives her hope that her kind might someday change its murderous ways. But how can Luce fulfill her rightful role as queen of the mermaids without sacrificing her forbidden romance with Dorian? Full of miraculous reunions and heart-pounding rescues, this haunting second installment in the Lost Voices trilogy finds Luce eager to attempt reconciliation with humans—as long as war doesn’t break out first.

Why?: I love stories where the couple meets and are like “I should hate you but wtf why don’t I?”. Maybe it’s that enduring Shakespearean theme of starcrossed lovers (I just made myself cringe typing that, but how else would one describe that trope in literature?), I’m not really sure. I love the fact that Luce has to sacrifice the guy she’s fallen for so she can keep surviving. I LOVE THAT IDEA. And it’s so very ballsy. I loved the first book, too, so I definitely can’t wait for this one. July is far too long to wait for this next book to come.

What’s on your wishlist this week?

Leave a Reply

