Top Ten Tuesday ♡ – Week 19


Top Ten Tuesday  is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists! Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week’s theme: Top Ten Books Usagi’s Judged By Their Covers

Prompt via The Broke & The Bookish:   We’ve all been told not to judge a book by its cover. But we all do it. We also judge books by their titles. I know that a lot of work goes into cover art – and so I think it’s an acceptable factor in your decision to spend $15-$20 on a book that it cover and/or title be pleasing. So here are 10 books that I’ve judged and bought based on their cover art and/or title. And whether or not that judging led me astray.

In no particular order:

1. “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer” by Michelle Hodkin: Can we say WOW? Because take away the text, and the photo used for the cover is even more awesome than before. It’s gorgeous. I love it. And the story was well worth it, too!

2. “Fateful” by Claudia Gray: I chose this one through the library just because the cover was literally shiny and sparkly (I’m on easy sell on covers like that, what can I say?). While I can’t say it was an absolutely mindblowing book, it was a lovely read. I’ll probably buy it in paperback.

3. “Let the Right One In” by John Ajvide Linqvist: I went out and bought this right after I saw the original film and more or less just for the cover with Eli on it. And it was just as amazing (if not more so) than the film – then again, the author of the novel wrote the screenplay, so go figure. Definitely worth the money!

4. “Book Girl and the Suicidal Mime (Bungaku Shoujo to Shinitagari Pierrot)” by Nomura Mizuki: Yeah, I know, this is the manga cover, but I knew about the manga before I knew that it was based off of the original light novels. I love the artist for the manga as much as I do the one for the novels, so when I saw this in Kinokuniya two years ago, it took my breath away. ❤ DEFINITELY worth the money.

5. “Carrier of the Mark” by Leigh Fallon: I absolutely adore the cover for this, and the story wasn’t so shabby, either. I’m really glad it was released in paperback as a first edition instead of hardback, because I’m not so sure I would have dished out the $17 for it otherwise. I still got it through my library, but I do plan to buy it once I get extra funds. I think at $9 it’s far more reasonable this way.

6. “Wizard’s First Rule (Sword of Truth/Legend of the Seeker #1)” by Terry Goodkind: I found out about the original novel series through the TV series, “Legend of the Seeker”, in 2009, and I became a HUGE fan of the show. SO imagine me wandering about in my local bookstore and finding this cover on the first book! I practically plotzed. Was it worth it? Absolutely. Not a first edition but a wonderful one nonetheless.

7. “Texas Gothic” by Rosemary Clement-Moore: Another library request based on cover – and another I think I’ll be buying in paperback (or if I can find it used through ebay, half, or amazon) because the story was awesome (and I’m broke). This model is absolutely gorgeous and I find myself jealous of those looks!

8. “Across the Universe” by Beth Revis: I won’t deny that I bought based on cover alone (with only a little help from the blurb). That’s rare for me to do. Was it worth it? Abso-fucking-lutely. I adore this book and I can’t wait for “A Million Suns”, coming in January 2012. Seriously. I can’t wait!

9. “Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books (Weetzie Bat/Dangerous Angels #1-5)” by Francesca Lia Block: I bought this when I was 12, when this first omnibus edition came out on sight alone. I’m so glad I did! I spent two weeks’ allowance on it and I have never, ever regretted it, because this woman changed the way I saw the world when I read it for the first time after buying it. I read it in two days flat, and I still have this edition – though I have to keep taping the pages back in and the binding is starting to fray. ❤

10. “Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1)” by Cassandra Clare: I love the “Mortal Instruments” series, but I was a little skeptical of this new prequel-esque series that debuted last year. But was it worth it? Definitely. Though I don’t like it as much as the first series, it was still very much worth the money. ❤

What about you? What are your top ten this Tuesday?

Leave a Reply

