Soundtrack Saturday 06: The “Across the Universe” EP


Hey guys! It’s a new feature! Everyone get up and dance!

No, really. Dance. Sing. This is Soundtrack Saturday, where you go ahead and pick one book you’ve recently finished (and liked) and make a soundtrack for it.

I’ll occasionally make up a challenge for the week, but otherwise, look above for the same prompt.

I’ll be hosting all of my mixes on 8tracks, a really awesome site that lets you make mixes and listen to others. It’s extremely easy to use. You can upload your own .mp3/mp4 files or choose those from users who have already uploaded the song you want to use. You must pick at least 8 tracks in order to publish your mix, so for this weekly meme, pick 8 tracks. Or if you’re not able to use 8tracks/upload, then give me a list of eight songs for the book you chose for that week.

Optional: for extra fun, create and upload cover art for your mix.

Please use the image to the left for your Soundtrack Saturday posts (and upload it to your own server!), and be sure to post your specific weekly link in the comments!

This week’s soundtrack: “Across the Universe” by Beth Revis


1. Fiona Apple – Across the Universe (cover: The Beatles)
Images of broken light which dance before me like a million eyes,
They call me on and on across the universe,
Thoughts meander like a restless wind inside a letter box they
Tumble blindly as they make their way
Across the universe
Jai guru deva om

2. Uh Huh Her – Dreamer
I’m missing something,
not to blame
But don’t you worry,
this will pass
It’s only cause my mind’s
been spinning
No control,
I’ve lost my head
All of this is just beginning
Not enough,
it’s never enough
I’ll only want to keep on dreaming

3. Lights – Fourth Dimension
Bottle rockets and time bombs and warheads
We could go back, or keep on, or be led
Follow me to the chapel, we’re the kings of the castle
It’s a science, but there’s room to believe
In the riots, I find you and I breathe
This isn’t for the weak hearts,
But everyone’s here at some part

4. Lykke Li – Youth Knows No Pain
Come laugh away who you are and get down
Who you are, who we are now you’re found
To the sun or the bears or the guns
We taking all our vows with your frown

5. Jose Gonzalez – Deadweight on Velveteen
It’s not what it seems
Uncover the mystery
Tell everyone what you see
It’s not what it seems
Vulgar when brought to light
Betray the image
There’s nothing between the sheets

6. The Head & The Heart – Coeur D’Alene
Wearily waitin’ on the wastin’ of his days
A sad son’s smoldering soul
Give you three bucks for your sympathy and another for a cigarette
The interaction feels so cold
Oh the songs people will sing for home
And for the ones that have been gone for too long
But oh the things people will do for the ones that they love

7. Girls – Magic
You’ve chased my fears away,
That’s why I’m sticking with you,
Nobody makes me feel better
Just a look was all it took
Suddenly I’m on the hook,
It’s magic
Follow you and follow me
Everybody else can see
It’s madness

8. Oh Land – Wolf & I
And you are the wolf
And I am the moon
And in the endless sky we are but one
We are alive
In my dreams wolf and I

LISTEN HERE

What is your soundtrack this Saturday?

Leave a Reply

