Top Ten Tuesday ♡ – Week 15


Top Ten Tuesday  is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists! Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week’s theme: Top Ten Books I Read Because of Another Blogger

1. “Bloodlines” by Michelle Read: I wasn’t sure I wanted to continue on in the “Vampire Academy”-related universe, but the early reviews that came out were so positive and good (and a few hadn’t even really liked the original series!) that I couldn’t resist.

2. “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern: Along with her Cinderella story of 30 rejections and one NaNoWriMo that got her a six figure deal, the early buzz on this book was huge. That and the fact that I kept hearing that film rights had already been bought (way before publication!) was incredible, and so I poked at our lovely online community some more and found that yes, this was the book for me.

3. “Everblue” by Brenda Pandos: The early reviewers on Goodreads was responsible for me emailing Pandos herself and asking for a review copy. So thanks, guys — without you, I might not have gotten to read this awesome merstory. D:

4. “The Daughter of Smoke & Bone” by Laini Taylor: So many book bloggers raving about this one – and it deserves all of the hype you hear about. Thanks for this one, guys. It was lovely!

5. “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins: I think everyone heard of this one via the book blogging community, or someone they know that blogs.

6. “The Prophecy of the Sisters” by Michelle Zink: Another thanks to Goodreads members who let me know about this series before it came out!

7. “RelicMaster: The Dark City (RelicMaster/Books of the Crow #1)” by Catherine Fisher: Everyone raving in the industry that blogs before I got my ARC copy really influenced me to ask for one. I loved the “Incarceron” duology, and I didn’t expect to like this series even more than that one. So a big thank you to industry bloggers that let me know about this series.

8. “Book Girl & the Suicidal Mime” by Nomura Mizuki: I have to thank the Japanese light novel community (2chan, etc) for turning me onto this series, and for Baka-Tsuki for early translations before it was picked up by Yen Press.

9. “Anathem” by Neal Stephenson: i09.com would not shut up about how fabulous this release was when it came out a few years ago. Some other big name bloggers also wouldn’t shut up about how fabulous it was, so I had to see its fabulousness for myself. And it was greatly fabulous.

10. “Nightshade” by Andrea Cremer: I almost gave up on this title completely, because I couldn’t get used to the writing style. Thankfully, the other book bloggers talked me out of that nonsense, and I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. So thanks, guys, for forcing me to open up my brain a bit more.

What are your top ten this Tuesday?

Leave a Reply

