Top Ten Tuesday ♡ – Week 14


Top Ten Tuesday  is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists! Each week we will post a new Top Ten list  that one of our bloggers here at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Everyone is welcome to join.

This week’s theme: Top Ten Books Usagi Wants to Read This Fall!

1. “Seed” by Rob Zeigler: Dystopia! Post-ish America! Genetic engineering! A new dust bowl! So much about this book sounds really great. I can’t wait to read it!

2. “The Pledge” by Kimberly Derting: Language, made-up countries, and a caste system. I love this sort of thing! Anything with using language as a weapon I’m totally down for.

3. “Lost in Time (Blue Bloods #6)” by Melissa de la Cruz: We’re winding down to the end of the “Blue Bloods” series, and that makes me sad. But until then, awesome new adventures await Schuyler and the gang, and this one sounds especially delicious.

4. “Beautiful Chaos (Caster Chronicles #3)” by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl: The mystery of the Claiming is coming back to haunt our heroes in this one, which means I need to reread all of the books/novellas so far so I can really enjoy the juicy tiny details that Garcia & Stohl always bring to the table.

5. “The Scorpio Races” by Maggie Stiefvater: Words can’t express how excite I am about this next book. Only now are we really getting a good synopsis for it, and the more I read about it, the more I’m dying to read it. 😀

6. “Possess” by Gretchen McNeil: Love me some exorcism stories, especially if they’re for YA, and especially if we have a female protagonist. All of this sounds awesome, especially with the blending of cultures when it comes to beliefs about demons. Can’t wait!

7. “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer” by Michelle Hodkin: Not gonna lie, I have some serious cover lust going on for this one, but the idea of amnesia AND THEN falling in love after death is a very interesting one. I have the feeling that this one may appeal more to my philosophical tastes, and I hope it does. I need some good thinkin’ material.

8. “The Future of Us” by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler: The internet! Seeing the future in the internet! This sounds great, and it sounds like a great nostalgia trip for us Millennials/Gen Y/whatever the hell they’re calling us now that are at or over age 25. AOL was one of my first internet providers, so this is going to definitely going to be a blend of nostalgia tripping and future awesomeness. I can feel it.

9. “Fringe Science: Parallel Universes, White Tulips, and Mad Scientists” by Kevin R. Grazier: Just in time for a rewatch/review before the start of season 4 of my current fave show on TV, “Fringe”, this book goes into the actual mad science behind all of the episodes and arcs thus far. A definite must-read for Abrams/Fringe fans!

10. “Carrier of the Mark” by Leigh Fallon: The question of whether or not things are ‘fated’ to be, or whether we make our own fate (in the words of Sarah Connor) comes up in this book, but more in the guise of romance. Still, I love books that deal with the “free will” topic, so you can definitely bet I’m going to be reading this one.

Runners up include “The Faerie Ring”, “Book Girl & the Captive Fool (Book Girl #3)”, “Soul Thief (The Demon Trappers #2)”, “Ganymede (The Clockwork Century #4)”, “Torchwood: The Men Who Sold the World (Torchwood: Miracle Day #2)”, and “Shatter Me”.

What about you? What are your top ten this Tuesday?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday ♡ – Week 14

  1. Thank you for a lot of great book recommendations, I’m going to try and get my hands on Seed and The Pledge!

    I love your blog design by the way, it’s beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

