On My Wishlist ♡ – Week 23


On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Book Chick City and runs every Saturday. It’s where I list all the books I desperately want but haven’t actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming. If you want to know more click here.

Week 23: Still looking for ARCs to review of  “Legend”, and  “Hellbent” desperately, as well as some others! Let me know if you’re willing to send me a copy! If you want to send me a copy of your book for review, email me at usagiko at gmail dot com to let me know.

Here’s what’s on my wishlist this week:

1. “Soul Thief (The Demon Trappers #2)” by Jana Oliver

Summary via goodreads: Riley Blackthorne is beginning to learn that there are worse things than death by demon. And love is just one of them…

Seventeen-year-old Riley has about had it up to here. After the devastating battle at the Tabernacle, trappers are dead and injured, her boyfriend Simon is gravely injured, and now her beloved late father’s been illegally poached from his grave by a very powerful necromancer. As if that’s not enough, there’s Ori, one sizzling hot freelance demon hunter who’s made himself Riley’s unofficial body guard, and Beck, a super over-protective “friend” who acts more like a grouchy granddad.  With all the hassles, Riley’s almost ready to leave Atlanta altogether.

But as Atlanta’s demon count increases, the Vatican finally sends its own Demon Hunters to take care of the city’s “little” problem, and pandemonium breaks loose. Only Riley knows that she might be the center of Hell’s attention: an extremely powerful Grade 5 demon is stalking her, and her luck can’t last forever…

Why?: It took awhile for book one to grow on me, and now I simply can’t wait to read this one! I especially can’t wait to see what happens between the Vatican and Riley when they clash. This is going to be awesome.

 

2. “Why We Broke Up” by Daniel Handler & Maira Kalman

Summary via goodreads: I’m telling you why we broke up, Ed. I’m writing it in this letter, the whole truth of why it happened.

Min Green and Ed Slaterton are breaking up, so Min is writing Ed a letter and giving him a box. Inside the box is why they broke up. Two bottle caps, a movie ticket, a folded note, a box of matches, a protractor, books, a toy truck, a pair of ugly earrings, a comb from a motel room, and every other item collected over the course of a giddy, intimate, heartbreaking relationship. Item after item is illustrated and accounted for, and then the box, like a girlfriend, will be dumped.

Why?: My mentor won’t stop raving about this one. She says that everyone has to read it, and she has excellent taste. I love Handler’s work (you also may know him as Lemony Snicket), and this just looks hilarious. Line-by-line itemization about why you’re breaking up with someone? Sounds like comedy gold to me!

 

What’s on your wishlist this week?

Leave a Reply

