Review: “Airel” by Aaron Patterson


Title: “Airel”

Author: Aaron Patterson

Genre: YA, paranormal, romance

Publication Date: April 2011

Synopsis:  All Airel ever wanted to be was normal, to disappear into the crowd. But bloodlines can produce surprises, like sudden mysterious illness. Then there’s Michael Alexander, the new guy in school, who is impossibly gorgeous…and captivated by her. Somewhere in the back of her mind she can hear the sound of pages turning, and another, older story being written. It is the story of an ancient family, of great warriors, of the Sword of Light, and the struggle against an evil so terrible, so far-reaching, that it threatens everything she hopes for even now. Airel knew change would be inevitable as life went on. But can she hold on when murder and darkness begin to close in and take away everything she loves? Will she have what it takes when the truth is finally revealed?

☆: 2.5/5 stars – fun premise, poor execution.

Review:  While there was a very fascinating double-storyline and time-jump going back and forth with this book, I just couldn’t get into it like everyone else. I don’t know, I’m starting to wonder if fallen angels aren’t the new vampires in YA lit.


The premise is awesome, but once you start reading, it’s a bit of a let down. The attraction between Michael and Airel was purely physical, for no other reason than just looks. This told me volumes about Airel’s character, and I was more than a bit disappointed with how she turned out. She starts out hilarious and original with her own internal monologue, but it soon devolves into a lot of cliches (especially concerning love at first sight and physical appearances) in terms of adjectives. Hot new boy in town! We’re made for each other! And so on, and so forth, and I wanted to start screaming.

The fight scenes were GREAT. I will not deny that, and Patterson has definite talent with showing over telling in terms of scenes with a lot of action in them. I think I enjoyed Kreios’ storyline far more interesting overall, and I’m pretty sure he should have been the star of the show, not Airel. The demon/angel fight scenes were the most interesting scenes of all, excluding revealing character scenes with Kreios and the ancient middle east.

I think the most disappointing thing is that this could have been so much better than it was – Airel herself had some really great qualities that were so underplayed it’s like they weren’t even there. It saddens me greatly when this happens. Overall, I’m not sure what to think. I’m not sure if I’ll be reading the next book, but I might give it a try if I have extra time on my hands. I’m not really excited about it. But don’t take my word for it – give this book a read and decide for yourself.

(Thanks to the author for sending me a copy of the book – you rock, Patterson!)

One thought on “Review: “Airel” by Aaron Patterson

  1. Pingback: 100+ Books in a Year 2011 – my progress « birth of a new witch.

Leave a Reply

