Teaser Tuesday ♡ – Week 8


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

•Grab your current read

•Open to a random page
•Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

•Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This week’s teaser comes from “Moshidora (もし高校野球の女子マネージャーがドラッカーの『マネジメント』を読んだら?/Moshi, Koukou Yakyuu no Joshi Manager ga Drucker no “Management” wo Yondara?/What if a female high school baseball manager read Drucker’s “Management”?)” by Iwasaki Natsumi:

“Kawashima Manami became the manager of her high school’s baseball team right before the summer break of her junior year, in mid-July. It was quite sudden. Had you asked her about doing so a little bit ago, she wouldn’t have believed it. She wasn’t in any clubs or into doing any club activities; she was just a normal high school girl. It wasn’t as if she’d had anything in mind in terms of the baseball team – in fact, there was no love lost between them. It just kind of happened.”

*Note: all of this is my own translation, so it might be a bit off in some places and it’s not polished whatsoever. But you get the idea.

So, tease me, friends! What are you reading this Tuesday? Let me know in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday ♡ – Week 8

    • I know, right? It goes on to explain the circumstances a few paragraphs down. I really love this story so far, though – the anime started airing on TV (finally) in Japan this week, so I thought I’d get a head start and read the original book first.

  1. You, my dear, are brave! Even though Japanese was my foreign language in college, I wouldn’t even dare to dive into an untranslated manga! Scary! I really like the teaser!

    • Oh, I don’t think of myself as brave. This is my passion, and I honestly need more education if I want to translate full-time (when the economy recovers, bleh). Manga’s easy compared to novels, and this is a novel. 🙂

      Thank you for stopping by! It’s nice to find someone else who knows how awesome (and scary) the Japanese language can be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

