In My Mailbox ♡: Week 55


What is In My Mailbox?
In My Mailbox was started in November of 2008. What it all came down to was this: I get books to read and then ultimately share my thoughts about with my readers. As much as I want to, I can’t possibly read every book I receive. Yet, I still wanted a way to feature those books on the blog, even though it might not be in the form of a review. Problem solved!

Week 55: Here’s what’s in my mailbox this week!

♡ GIVEN/BOUGHT/SWAPPED/LIBRARY:

1. “1Q84 (English Translated Edition” by Murakami Haruki – bought

2. “The Invention of Hugo Cabret” by Brian Selznick – library

3. “I Hunt Killers” by Barry Lyga – via ARC Swap (thanks, guys!)

4. “Black Heart (Curse Workers #3)” by Holly Black – via ARC Swap (thanks, guys!)

5. “Book Girl and the Corrupted Angel (Bungaku Shoujo to Aimei no Tenshi – Book Girl #4 – English Translated Edition)” by Nomura Mizuki – bought

 

♡ DVD:

1. “The Adventures of Tintin (2011)” – via Klout Perks (thanks!)

Holy crap awesome week, Batman! Bookman, one of my favorite used bookstores had both “1Q84″ and “Book Girl #4″ barely read and on sale  so I paid $5 for the lot of them between the sale and the credit I had! And what I’m most excited about – “BLACK HEART”. OMG, screaming. Thank you, thank you, thank you to my partners at ARC swap for being so kind to swap with me, because I’ve been dying to read this since I finished “Red Glove” last year! And yay for “I Hunt Killers”, which has been hailed as “Son of Dexter”. I can’t wait! Also, finally getting to read “Hugo” – I still haven’t seen it yet and I’m waiting in line at the library to get the DVD, so I’m hoping it’s good. And of course, thanks to Klout Perks for the shiny new Tintin movie! I like Tintin quite a bit so I’m excited to watch it. I better get reading, since “Black Heart” is just so very very tempting…

♡ E-ARCs/GALLEYS/ONLINE PUBLISHER READING:

1. “Velveteen” by Daniel Marks (via Edelweiss/Random House)

2. “The Little Woods” by  (via Edelweiss/Random House)

3. “Drain You” by (via Edelweiss/HarperTeen)

4. “Kissing Shakespeare” by Pamela Mingle (via Edelweiss/Random House)

5. “Diva (The Flappers #3)” by Jillian Larkin (via Edelweiss/Random House)

6. “Unspoken” by Sarah Rees Brennan (via Edelweiss/Random House)

7. “Kill Me Softly” by Sarah Cross (via NetGalley/Egmont USA)

8. “Touched” by Cyn Balog (via Edelweiss/Random House)

9. “Flutter” by Gina Linko (via Edelweiss/Random House)

10. “Shadowfell” by Juliet Mariller (via Edelweiss/Random House)

11. “Something Red” by Douglas Nicholas (via NetGalley/Atria Books)

12. “Intentions” by (via NetGalley/Random House)

13. “Masque of the Red Death” by Bethany Griffin (via Edelweiss/HarperTeen)

14. “Until I Die (Revenants #2)” by Amy Plum (via Edelweiss/HarperTeen)

15. “Dreamless (Starcrossed #2)” by Josephine Angelini (via Edelweiss/HarperTeen)

Edelweiss has been ridiculously good to me. I’m really excited for “Velveteen” the most out of all of these, as well as “Kill Me Softly” and “Diva”. The rest were requests I’d made awhile ago and am grateful for. Thank you to both NG and EW and their wonderful partners for approving my requests! I’m so excited to read all of these, but damn, am I floored for “Velveteen”!

 

♡ MAGAZINES:

1. Parade Magazine – March 25, 2012 – “Hunger Games” Edition (bought)

2. Entertainment Weekly – April 7, 2012 – Katniss Fever Edition (bought)

3. TV Guide – March 29 – April 5th 2012 – “Game of Thrones” Season 2 Edition (bought)

Parade Magazine, of course, comes in the LA Times every week, and we usually buy the weekend paper in the household to read and share with each other – but imagine my surprise when Katniss showed up! Also, second week in a row for HG on the cover of EW (though I wish I’d gotten the previous week’s edition when I had the chance), and I couldn’t pass up “Game of Thrones” season 2 teaser edition of TVG. So excited for the GoT Season 2 premiere tomorrow night I’m considering doing a quick reread of “A Clash of Kings” for the season…

 

♡ OTHER:

1. “Sherlock” T-Shirt (bought via TeeFury)

 

I bought this ages ago and it finally got here. Only $10! It was worth the wait. I ADORE SHERLOCK, so I had to have this shirt. And TeeFury is both awesome and difficult in that they rarely bring back shirt prints after they’ve been up for their standard 24 hours.

 

In other words, an awesome week! I’m so excited for all of these books and things! ALL THE THINGS!

 

What did you get in your mailbox this week?

16 thoughts on “In My Mailbox ♡: Week 55

  1. Such a great haul. Thanks for sending me here. Glad you liked 1Q84. I am reading the Wind-Up Bird Chronicle soon. Edelweiss has been good to me too. I got three books from them last week. Anyway, that’s a lot of books, so you better get reading! :)

  2. Oh great IMM, I would love to learn more about Mask of the red death, I had velveteen too, I can’t wait to get into it. ENjoy all your new books!

  3. Wow, what a great haul of books! I’m kind of in awe of how many e-galleys you got this week. I requested some of them and am waiting to get approval, so *fingers crossed*.

    I finished Black Heart last week, and it is AWESOME. I’m also currently reading I Hunt Killers and liking that one as well. I hope you enjoy them all!

  4. You have so much loot I find it difficult to sift through and find something to make a comment on. I will say Velveteen sounds really enticing to me. Hope you enjoy your books this week.

  5. Great books this week!!! I picked up a few of those last week as well!;)

    Thanks for visiting my IMM this week!;)
    I’m sorry but I’m unfamiliar with the author scandal you mentioned considering so many have gone on recently….

    Happy reading! ;)

  6. Amazing mailbox, you’ve got Black Heart and Something Red – looking forward to your reviews! :) Sherlock T-Shirt looks gorgeous as well :) thanks for introducing me to your blog, I’m definitely staying :)

Leave a Reply

